Make sense of these vague instructions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2007, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default Make sense of these vague instructions.

On the back of your system you will see two cables that actually route the mic/headphone ports to the front. Simply unplug the mic cable on the back of your sound card and plug your mic in there.

My back mic jack doesn't work, this is the help I got, but I don't get it.
__________________

cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Make sense of these vague instructions.

Quote:
Originally posted by cementshoes
On the back of your system you will see two cables that actually route the mic/headphone ports to the front. Simply unplug the mic cable on the back of your sound card and plug your mic in there.

My back mic jack doesn't work, this is the help I got, but I don't get it.
where?

the most common problem is that the microphone is muted in the Windows control panel.

go to start -> run -> "sndvol32" (without quotes)

Options -> properties
check "microphone" -> "ok"

uncheck mute from microphone
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Inside the back of your system. You will see wires that plug into whats called the jumpers. I believe thats what they are talking about
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default

It's not a setting as the front jacks work. So what do I do w/ the wires on "jumpers" when I find em?
cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Make sure that you dont have two of them plugged in. Say..... if its a speaker, make sure no headphones is plugged in the front otherwise the speaker (plugged in the back) wont work as it is routed directly to the headphones (plugged in the front).

So if you want to make sure your back mic works, make sure nothing is plugged in the front. If there is non, then I cant think of anything else that may not make your back mic not work.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.