Mainboard FSB, help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Exclamation Mainboard FSB, help.

Hi,

I'm thinking of upgrading to a Intel Core2Duo E6600 or even a 6750 if FSB permits, i'm currently using a Intel Celeron D Dual Core 3.4MHz.

A couple of questions,

#1: Would this upgrade be worth the money? (Mainly for gaming)

and secondly, i noticed on the 6750 descriptions it has a 1333MHz mainboard required FSB, and the 6600's a 1033MHz FSB required. Now i'm no whiz so i need some help finding out what my mainboards FSB is, and if these CPU's will work on it if it's not that high + the downsides/upsides to it.

Intel&reg Desktop Board DP965LT Overview is my motherboard.

I noticed just then within that description it says

"
Support for an Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor in an LGA775 socket with a 1066 or 800 MHz system bus
"

Does that mean i can use the 6600 but not the 6750's as the FSB is to high? or am i looking at the wrong thing? or?

Any help appreciated ASAP ^_^
__________________

__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
Hi,

I'm thinking of upgrading to a Intel Core2Duo E6600 or even a 6750 if FSB permits, i'm currently using a Intel Celeron D Dual Core 3.4MHz.

A couple of questions,

#1: Would this upgrade be worth the money? (Mainly for gaming)

and secondly, i noticed on the 6750 descriptions it has a 1333MHz mainboard required FSB, and the 6600's a 1033MHz FSB required. Now i'm no whiz so i need some help finding out what my mainboards FSB is, and if these CPU's will work on it if it's not that high + the downsides/upsides to it.

Intel&reg Desktop Board DP965LT Overview is my motherboard.

I noticed just then within that description it says

"
Support for an Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor in an LGA775 socket with a 1066 or 800 MHz system bus
"

Does that mean i can use the 6600 but not the 6750's as the FSB is to high? or am i looking at the wrong thing? or?

Any help appreciated ASAP ^_^
definitely.. ur moving from low-end single core to a dual-core (high end) get the e6750 but first flash your BIOS first...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

my cpu is dual core, pentium D is dual core :-/

And my motherboard description doesn't say it supports the Core 2 Duo 1333MHz, can i still use the 6750?
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
my cpu is dual core, pentium D is dual core :-/

And my motherboard description doesn't say it supports the Core 2 Duo 1333MHz, can i still use the 6750?
nope.. get an e6420 or e6320 instead then...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

you can get the e6700 though
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
nope.. get an e6420 or e6320 instead then...
is the upgrade from a 3.40ghz pentium d dual core to a core2duo e6320 1.8ghz dual core even noticable? i've been worried cause i understand it's not all clock speed now and the 2.13GHz core2duos outperform 3.4+ dual cores, but going from 3.4 to 1.8 - isn't that a big drop?
__________________
One day machines will rule the world.
Until that day, i'll make as much toast and re-heat as many things as i want!
HELPMEPLZ is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

the newer architecture, enables more things done per clock, and the e6320 can OC to 3.0 ghz easily
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HELPMEPLZ View Post
is the upgrade from a 3.40ghz pentium d dual core to a core2duo e6320 1.8ghz dual core even noticable? i've been worried cause i understand it's not all clock speed now and the 2.13GHz core2duos outperform 3.4+ dual cores, but going from 3.4 to 1.8 - isn't that a big drop?
clock speed days are gone... yes the Pentium D is outperformed heavily by the Core 2 Duo... lets find some benchies..



here.. a really demanding game.. at a really high resolution.... and look at the Pentium D EE clocked at 3.73ghz getting whooped by a Core 2 Duo at 2.4 ghz... the new architecture makes it run cooler and faster
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

that....is a 1 year+ old benchmark, the e6320 would probably be getting 70+ , when OC'ing to 3.0
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mainboard FSB, help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
that....is a 1 year+ old benchmark, the e6320 would probably be getting 70+ , when OC'ing to 3.0
well duh.... i can't find a recent benchmark with the Pentium D and AMD ones on it too... even tho its old... it still has reliable info... but its more like 80fps on an oc'ed e6320
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-14-2007 07:03 PM
MSI K9A2 AMD RD790 mainboard pictures Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-08-2007 02:34 AM
Gigabyte introduces Mainboard that supports Quad CrossFire based on AMD RD790 chipset b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-30-2007 11:51 PM
Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-07-2007 01:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.