m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2009, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

I am trying yo upgrade my brothers computer I was thinking about a Phenom II x3 720. But I know this board needs a bios update, and even then I think I am limited. I found this chart.

CPU-Upgrade: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe cpu support and features

I am not sure how reliable it is. I have been out of the AMD market for awhile, but I do want to get him an upgrade soon. I am going to pop in my 4870 1GB and the new CPU. So I have to make sure I have a compatible CPU. Currently he has a x2 6000 AMD. And really it would be nice if I could replace it with something to match the 4870 upgrade as well.
__________________

DavidJC is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

No way it will run an x3 720. You'll need a newer board for that.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

well according to the chart it will run a AM2+ x3 or x4, but I think I just cant get a Phenom II because it's AM3. There is some confusion about this but the chart I posted says it supports x4 even.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

It will run old Phenoms, not the new ones.

Phenom x3 and x4 - yes.
Phenom II x3 and x4 - no.

x3 and x4 were around before the 720 and 940. :P

EDIT: You may want to contact the manufacturer and find out for sure, though.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 12:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

I have the same mobo, it will support pheno X3 an X4 socket AM3 processors are supposed to be backwards compatible but to be honest I wouldn't really want to buy one an run it on a AM2
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

Ok well I will see then, I don't want to rip out the mobo. It's a pain. A CPU/GPU upgrade is easy enough to do though.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

It is about a million times easier to upgrade the processor when the mobo is outside the case, it won't take long to remove it I can have a mobo stripped of all power, data, an USB cables and out of the case in under 10 min.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

yeah but with this MSI I had VERY VERY bad driver issues. I just think I'd almost have to wipe windows and reformat too. A CPU/GPU is a lot less to install, as far as drivers. My sound got jacked up on this board once becuase of drivers and it was **** to fix. Now my brother has the board.

I am really looking got a cheap powerful CPU for the MOBO. I mean really the x2 6000 is decent. But a good AMD that is around a q6600 power level would be great for the 4870.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

A Phenom 9950 would get you pretty close to Q6600 performance and should be compatible with your motherboard.

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 9950 Agena 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: m2n-sli deluxe what kind of CPU upgrade?

Good call, PJ.

Check the company first to see if there is some way of supporting the Phenom II's. I don't think it could, but it's worth a shot.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS M2N-E sli BIOS settings help OC cpu Thresh25 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-11-2008 12:58 AM
Prototype For a New Kind of CPU Watercooler? b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 23 04-10-2008 09:12 AM
Help choosing for next upgrade, GPU or CPU? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-17-2007 06:22 AM
cpu upgrade. (s939) lancec2c30 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 09-22-2007 02:24 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.