Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2007, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

Hm.... my FPS on 3d mark is now very very low. not so sure what could have caused this. i didnt OC my GPU, why is my FPS dropped from 60FPS to like 10FPS?

Is it because I OC'ed my CPU too high?

Edit: Okay i just set it back to 3.0GHz and its running fine, but at 3.2GHz its just decreasing my graphics performance.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

The OC is most likley too high, it causing memory read errors etc. when you OC to high. your system cant handle that speed thus the poor performance.
__________________

King X13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by King X13 View Post
The OC is most likley too high, it causing memory read errors etc. when you OC to high. your system cant handle that speed thus the poor performance.
ah, but now its back to normal after rebooting it. Hopefully my games wont have the same result and it wont have lower fps. Ill test it again some other time to see what happens.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

you may cause damage to your cpu, memory and other hardware running it at an unstable setting. this is not advised, an extra 200mhz isnt worth damaging your system.
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

well, i tested it in orthos and in everest too load temps is at 51C on both of them at about 2 hours of full load time both cores at 100%.

But when i go to um........ the BIOS, and look at the temp there, its at 40~41C is that the idle temp?

Right now just surfing the web my CPU temp is at 38C
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

its not just temp that you have to worry about. its the data transfer also, thats what is causing your poor fps. trying running super pi on 2m and maybe 4m and see what happens. if you get no errors when doing that you are most likely in ok shape.

when your in your bios you are looking at idle temp since nothing is runing.

software temp programs arent that accurate unless they are the ones that came with the mobo.
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

wats super pi on 2m?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

ok i did that super pi thing, i didnt even restart my pc so its up to its full capability but here it is....




i did both 2m and 4m are those good times?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

download here Super PI Mod

you will see the options for how many places of pi you want it to calculate. what it does is stress you cpu by calculating the value of pi to x amount of megs of space.

EDIT* lol beat me to it. yea those are pretty good times and if you computer did give you any errors you are pretty much safe.
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Low FSP on 3dmark after going to 3.2GHz?

i tried all but the ones at 8m and higher. should i try it all?

Edit: 8M time at 3min 24.089 sec
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got it to 3.2GHz!!! But dxdiag says its 3.6GHz? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 38 08-27-2007 04:51 PM
Think I can run this at 3.2GHz? pinoy3000 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-26-2007 12:22 PM
3dmark Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-24-2007 10:28 AM
AMD's Opteron hits 3.2GHz veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-07-2007 12:40 AM
ATI R600 2006 3dMark score with screenshot hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-16-2007 05:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.