low budget bang - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default low budget bang

this is what I have so far. what do you guys think?

processor $105.99 (2.0GHz, easy overclocker)
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

vid card $149.99 (7600GT 256mb)
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

hd $101.99 (10krpm, 37gb)
Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB 3.5" Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144200

ram $150 (2gb)
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Platinum System Memory - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 10:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

ditch the raptor. you can get two of these in raid http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144415 for almost the same price and a faster speed (3 gb/s) if your not OCing just get cheapo ram, if you are consider this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220082 for $10 more get this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103533
vid card is good though.

for a motherboard id reccomend http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188006 (allows for SLI upgradeability)
for a case get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129155 (cheap professional looking, comes with PSU, if you want window + better PSU get a Thermaltake tsunami and an antec truepower 2)
if you need a CD drive get a lite on lightscribe dvd burner (<$40)
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Get rid of the raptor. Waste of money in this price range. Spend the money on a 7900GT or the likes.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: low budget bang

Quote:
Originally posted by wiouxev
this is what I have so far. what do you guys think?

processor $105.99 (2.0GHz, easy overclocker)
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

vid card $149.99 (7600GT 256mb)
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

hd $101.99 (10krpm, 37gb)
Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB 3.5" Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144200

ram $150 (2gb)
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Platinum System Memory - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

This motherboard for overclocking, and you can mod it to an SLI-D

Yeah drop the raptor...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130281
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

Thanks for the tips

However the vid card is way out of budget. Trying to keep the main pieces below 600-700
wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

any need for 2gb ram ? get 1gb and 7900 or such.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jam3s-Zer0
any need for 2gb ram ? get 1gb and 7900 or such.
Yes 2GB's all the way!!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jam3s-Zer0
any need for 2gb ram ? get 1gb and 7900 or such.
There is every need to go for 2GB's of RAM (Vista and games now.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

Yeah, I know 2gb of ram is about the smartest ~$150 spent for the system, so that really isnt an option to change.
wiouxev is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 01:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Why not AM2? It's about the same price... Then hook up w/ the 2 gigs and if you have enough then nab a 7900, otherwise get a 7600.
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.