Loud Server - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2013, 05:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Loud Server

CHA_FAN1 is the fan that was loud yesterday. Thats what it is plugged into. It is at the back out the case.

The other fan on the motherboard is plugged into CPU_FAN but doesn't seem to be making much noise.

Is that what you needed?
__________________

JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Loud Server

Yes. What is the motherboard model? I can guide you through changing the control.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Loud Server

Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 Motherboard

JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Loud Server

When you first turn your computer on you'll see a screen pop up. You want to press the delete key to get into the bios. When you get into the bios go to the "monitor" tab. You'll see a list of fan options and stuff. You want to scroll to you see Chassis Fan Profile and set it to Silent.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Loud Server

What will this do? Turn it off completely?
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Loud Server

No it'll keep it from ramping up to max RPM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Loud Server

OK, I need to connect the keyboard and monitor back to the system, will have to do it later
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Loud Server

You can also use a program called HWmoniter - Link that will tell you all your motherboard(and gpu/hdd/ect) temps, the realtime rpm of your fans, and their min/max/current value of each.

I would never recommend slowing your fans RPM without first finding out why its spinning so fast.

The Asus board i have in one of my servers was set at default 100% fan speed when i built it so that's probably why, but don't change it before you make sure their isn't and wont be an issue with heat when changing the fan speed!

P.s. sorry if i repeated anything, i tired to skim the thread to make sure i would not.
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Default Re: Loud Server

I have just ran that HWMonitor. Here are the results.

3e5dedae525282004e395e79d3994c5c.png

Do I need to change anything?

Thanks!
JamesBond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Loud Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesBond View Post
I have just ran that HWMonitor. Here are the results.

3e5dedae525282004e395e79d3994c5c.png

Do I need to change anything?

Thanks!
That showed me exactly what we need (Most likely ) Your fan connected to your CPU 'header' is spinning at 3800 RPM, depending on what type of fan that is, that can be VERY loud! Your temps are PERFECT, very cold running machine, well done!

Find out which fan is connected to that connector. I know that my servers 80mm fan for my Q6600 @ stock speeds only spins at 1700 at idle and its more then cool. Oh, also that same fan spins at 100% when it boots and thats 3800+ rpm and its VERY loud
__________________

__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.