Looking to upgrade my current system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2010, 03:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

For bout 600 you can get a 1366 i7 930, a asrock x58 board and gskill 6 gigs ram..

But the i5 will be a huge increse over a c2q and will allow an upgrade to an i7 1156 chip later
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 09:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Alright so I think that i might go with this intel i5. But should I get the i5 750 or i5 760? Also what motherboard? I'm looking for something that will support an i7 later, the capability to use crossfire, as well as some overclock friendly options. I want the best possible for as cheap as possible.

EDIT: Or should I get a i7 - 860 which for 70 more dollars has hyper-threading. I think it might be better to spend 70 extra now then 270 later! But Also what is the major difference between the i7-8xx and the i7 - 9xx
__________________

zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

So right now i'm at school bored, and i've been doing some shopping.
How does this sound for my upgrade?

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9S-4GBRL $72

ASUS P7P55D-E LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard $139

Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I7860 $279

Total comes to $492

If any part sucks let me know. I want it to be cheap but i don't want it to be crap either!!
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

You would be seriously better off with an i5 750/760 and 2000mhz RAM. The 1156 platform really needs fast RAM to shine, which is why companies like Corsair make such fast RAM for it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

So your saying i would be better to go with a i5 that has 4 cores instead of a baseline i7 with 8 cores. And just overclock the heck out of it? the extra 4 cores aren't worth it?
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

You have to take into consideration that an i7 is still a quad core, and it has 8 threads of which 4 are virtual. If your a simple gamer you dont get much out of having HT. Not to mention your looking past the fact that i keep stating 1156 platform shines considerately more with faster RAM. I have a friend that can attest to this having only 1066 RAM that he OCs to 1333. Now like i suggested to the other guy in the other thread an i7 because he specifically stated he will be using 3D modeling programs which actually DO take advantage of those extra threads. If his budget was a tad higher i would have suggested a 930 instead with 6GB Tri-channel RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

well if i plan on being able to play Crysis, and also plan to use a lot of Adobe programs would an i7 be more ideal?
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Crysis can be played with anything over a 2007 build honestly. Adobe programs eat up RAM so you would want more and faster RAM. Specifically if you do ALOT in Photoshop you would want more along the lines of 8GB of RAM. Adobe slows down if it starts to run out of RAM and starts using the pagefile which is considerately slower. Thats just my personal experience though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Well I'm dissapointed that i have to buy new ram because right now i can only afford 4gb. So i should probably go with the i5 750 or 760 and invest the extra money in a cooler or ram?
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 05:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Well the difference in price between an i5 and an i7 pretty much makes up for the extra cost of RAM. If you where building say, an AMD rig with 1333 RAM it would probably be fine. Its just i know from personal experience that 1156 loves high speed RAM. Im not saying you should get 8GB of RAM just for Photoshop, but only answering your question pertaining to Adobe. Also i believe CS4 starts allowing hardware acceleration from the video card, so having a supported video card could make up for 4 virtual threads.

Dont get me wrong, if you feel you need an i7 then by all means. Just giving my opinion here.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy a new system or upgrade current? c0ncept System Upgrades 24 12-08-2006 02:08 AM
Current Rig seeking upgrade? objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-10-2006 12:43 PM
upgrade for current computer sacko200 System Upgrades 3 05-07-2006 09:33 PM
Upgrade current system or Build a new one?? Shadow03 System Upgrades 6 11-06-2005 11:20 PM
How do I make a BOOTABLE system restore DVD of my current system with NO FLOPPIES!!! mikepg Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2005 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.