Looking to upgrade my current system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2010, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Question Looking to upgrade my current system

So I have a budget of roughly $500. I'm looking to buy either an Intel i7 or an AMD Phenom II processor. My current system includes a Core 2 Quad Q8200, 8GB RAM (4 x 2GB) of DDR2, I have a 500W PSU, and a Radeon HD 4890. I also have a very basic 500 Gb hard drive.

So my question is should I go with the i7 (4 core not 6) or go with an AMD processor (either 4 or 6). I would like to know a good motherboard to go with it. It would be great to be able to reuse my DDR2 but i will buy DDR3 only if necessary.
__________________

zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

To reuse your DDR2, you will have to go with AMD and get a AM3/AM2+/AM2 board. Since you will basically only be buying a CPU and board (possibly PSU), you might as well go with a x6. I don't have time to post anything, but will tonight.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Alright, i thought i might mention that i will be using this primarily for gaming with some slight video editing/encoding work on the side. I think i would also like to know if i might be better to just upgrade my video card or grab a SSD. Overclocking is also an option, it be great if that could be kept in mind when looking for a mobo and a processor. I want most bang for my buck!
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Obviously, upgrading to a DDR3 system would be faster but if you want to reuse your RAM youll need an AM2+ board.

If you went to Intel i would suggest either the i5 750 or i7 930. I think 500 isnt enough to get x58, DDR3, and a 930 though. I dont think youll see much justice in getting an X4 so if you upgrade X6 would be the more logical option.

Unless you absolutely need a new system id probably just upgrade your video card, or get the SSD. How high do you have the 8200 clocked?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

I think stock it was 2.66 and i had it up to 2.9 before i added 4gb more ram, and now its at 2.8.

What do you think would be a average price for the intel route.
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Depends on how cheap you go with the board and ram unless you upgrade to i5 750. i5 750 route can be had possibly around 300ish. Maybe less.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

My only problem with an i5 is that it doesn't have hyper-threading. Also an i5 wouldn't be much of an increase over my current Core 2 Quad. Also what benefit would there be over adding a i5?
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

Well what exactly do you do with your rig? Anything CPU demanding youll see an instant increase in performance like encoding ect. Not to mention most i5s do 3.6-4ghz on air easy. Mines doing 4.2ghz with my TRUE120 and if i had a better board could do 4.4ghz. As was mentioned in a few threads now the Core i architecture is alot better than its predecessor and Phenom 2. If you had say maybe a Q9550 id say the upgrade to an i5 wouldnt be that worth it but 2.9 Q8200 to an i5 750 would be a pretty good increase still depending on how high you clock it. Not to mention, your current C2Q doesnt have HT.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

So does your i5-750 show up as 4 cores or 8 under task manager?
zebadee2010 is offline  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Looking to upgrade my current system

4 threads. I dont have HT.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy a new system or upgrade current? c0ncept System Upgrades 24 12-08-2006 02:08 AM
Current Rig seeking upgrade? objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-10-2006 12:43 PM
upgrade for current computer sacko200 System Upgrades 3 05-07-2006 09:33 PM
Upgrade current system or Build a new one?? Shadow03 System Upgrades 6 11-06-2005 11:20 PM
How do I make a BOOTABLE system restore DVD of my current system with NO FLOPPIES!!! mikepg Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2005 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.