Looking to upgrade my current setup... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Exclamation Looking to upgrade my current setup...

Hey. I currently have (all from CPU-Z)

CPU-Intel Pentium 4 2.66 Ghz, Northwood

PC 2700 256 Mb DDR Memory
Frequency-166.1 Mhz
Unbuffered and Unregistered

Im wanting to upgrade my current Mobo, since im limited to PCI slots. I want to keep the current RAM and CPU. I want to be able to play some Battlefield 2 so Im going to need PCI-E x16 slots. Im gonna use it mainly for gaming... is it possible to take out my current cpu and switch it into another mobo? Which mobo should I use?
__________________

Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is possible but i don't think they make any s478 boards with pci-e. are you sure your current motherboard doesn't have AGP. in my opinion if you are upgrading two major components (motherboard, video card) there is no reason why you couldn't upgrade the whole system. normally i would reccomend waiting for conroe but for your purposes you could re-use your ram, case, psu and drives and add an s939 motherboard and a cheap single core athlon. this would be the most efficient way to upgrade
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would upgrade your memory and video card.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

What kind of cash do you have to spend here? I've never seen a nsocket 478 mobo with anything better than agp and if you're gaming i think you'll rally want pci-e. I'd recommend a socket 939 mobo (~$100), an Athlon 64 (~$150) and then your graphics card, just reuse everything else. Also check if your psu is compatible with new procs/mobos, not sure if these older ones will work cross-platform.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

there is no mobo that i could get? it doesnt HAVE to be pci-e.... also, money isnt an option but im just dying to get away from the integrated graphics :/
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Is there no help for me?
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

you could just get a mobo then a 6800gs , you should be able to play games medium-high settings
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yes it HAS to be PCI-E.

It would be useless buying AGP now.


I can understand buying new AGP cards if you have an AGP board, but Im sorry buying an AGP board now is not a good idea

Get a socket 939 mobo
1GB pc3200 ram.
3000+ or 3200+
6600 GT or 6800 GT


I know thats probably over your budget but that should do nicley

BF2 will chew up and spit out that ram you have.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

I cannot get a whole new CPU and ram and stuff... all I need is a mobo that will fit my CPU and my RAM and at least AGP slots.... nothing else!
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Anything on this page will do.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubcategory=280

This one looks very good, though I am partial to ASUS. Reviews were very positive and it was a popular model.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131527

I couldn't find any Socket 478's that used PCI Express. There was a weird one from MSI but it cost like $140 and seemed to list compatibility only with Mobile procs..
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.