Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2009, 08:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

That's what i've read.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

The q6600 is no longer a great overclocker. IIRC they get up to about 3 - 3.2ghz and I believe the cache in the q6600 is actually 4mbx2 which means two cores can access 4mb and the other 2 can access the other 4mb (since the q6600 is not a "true" quad core but 2 dual cores on one chip). Considering most games don't use quad cores and you probably don't run other intensive programs in the background while gaming I gather you would get about the same performance, possibly less.

Also are you sure you can't overclock your current cpu higher? I've seen them get around 4ghz before with a decent cooler. And that should be enough for just about anything.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

I could overclock further, but my ram is limiting me.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

What kind of ram do you have and are you running the ram at 1:1?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

I'm running a 4:5 ratio. my ram is running at 910mhz. If I were to overclock more I would have to change the FSB:RAM ratio again. Here's my ram:

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I still have it set to the 4-4-4-15 timings @ the rated 2.1v.

I'm not sure if overclocking any more would be a good idea. I'm at 50C load right now at a 78C ambient room temperature. Of course, I would like to overclock more if possible. I heard that changing the FSB:RAM ratio to a higher divider would put more stress on the ram.

(362x9.5) = 3.4ghz

I have the option to set a different divider that would get me at the same ram mhz running speed at an overclock of 3.6ghz.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 10:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

ahh good ole Far Cry 2, try running it on a AMD 5600 it isn't pleasant with 1 MB cache :P your e7200 really shouldn't have a problem, I'd say just wait another 6 months then if you wanna upgrade go with a good i7 build
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

the q9300 is 2 e7200's on the same chip, so you wouldn't see a big performance increase but 4 cores is better than 2.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainer711 View Post
I'm running a 4:5 ratio. my ram is running at 910mhz. If I were to overclock more I would have to change the FSB:RAM ratio again. Here's my ram:

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I still have it set to the 4-4-4-15 timings @ the rated 2.1v.

I'm not sure if overclocking any more would be a good idea. I'm at 50C load right now at a 78C ambient room temperature. Of course, I would like to overclock more if possible. I heard that changing the FSB:RAM ratio to a higher divider would put more stress on the ram.

(362x9.5) = 3.4ghz

I have the option to set a different divider that would get me at the same ram mhz running speed at an overclock of 3.6ghz.
give it a go, you should get 3.6 easily. if you have to loosen the timings to 5-5-5-15, 2T of course. increase the Vcore as needed also.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

Do I need to loosen the timings even if I have a lowered FSB:RAM ratio?
stainer711 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Looking for processor upgrade. A) is it worth it B)what should I get?

depends whether your computer runs stable or not, that why i said if you have to, loosen them. But i'd say you should be fine running at CLK4
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSP 3000 Worth Buying. NayNay1991x Sony Playstation 3 10-23-2008 04:31 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
how much is all this worth SiZcO Off Topic Discussion 11 03-16-2008 12:23 AM
AGEIA PhysX, worth it? Raknor New Systems | Building and Buying 67 07-21-2007 10:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.