Looking for a new MoBo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2010, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Looking for a new MoBo

As most of you know I upgraded my CPU/GPU/PSU and RAM. Sometime in the next 3-6 months I'm going to get a new MoBo.

This is what I have now:
My current motherboard is a micro ATX ASUS M2N68 AM SE2, it's a nice solid board, but it's limited when it comes to expansion.
-And the hardware I just added to it.
AMD Phenom II X4 945 (3.0Ghz Quad) AM3
4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz RAM
Antec 550W PSU.
1GB Geforce GT 240/ PCI-E x16

I know the first step is going to be getting a bigger case to fit a full ATX MoBo. I don't care for the micro ATX due to limited expansion. The case I can handle, but I want to get a bigger MoBo so I can run more RAM and upgrade even further in the future. This is where I get lost.

My current MoBo has only 2 slots for DDR2 RAM and the max I can put in is 4GB. Basically what I want to do is get a new MoBo that will support my current hardware, but can be added to later. I don't want to have to buy all new hardware, I just want to migrate all my hardware over to a larger board for further expansion in the future. I'd like a board with 4 slots for RAM with a max capacity of 8-16GB. Right now my MoBo is basically maxed out on how much RAM I can use (Only 4GB).

What I am looking for is a MoBo that meets the following:
4 slots for DDR2 RAM that can run a frequency of up to 1066MHz up to 8-16GB
Fits my AM3 processor.
Has at least 1 (preferably 2 PCI-E x16 slots)
Can support SATA drives.

Any good ones out there that meet all this?
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

how about this board?
MSI 790XT-G45 AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

That actually looks perfect. I've never messed around with installing a motherboard though. I mean I can put it in and connect everything physically. My concern is getting everything to work. I have a general idea on how it works (like I know I'll have to reinstall drivers and such), but what about my dual boot of XP and Vista? I know that they can't just plug in and start working with a new MoBo, but I also know it's not terribly complicated either. Any pointers on that? For a board that low cost, I may just get one here soon
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

I got this one for me:
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

This one is my wife's:
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G ATX AMD Motherboard

I am loving the Asus. Lots of stuff I haven't even messed with yet. The Biostar is nice as well, but it is a little narrower than my board. Lots of nice features with it as well.

You will have to reinstall Vista. With XP you might be able to use sysprep or a repair install, but since you are dual booting I doubt it. If you could you ought to make the jump to 7... you won't regret it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

I have a Micro ATX in a mid tower case right now.... Since I had my PC custom built I'm having a hard time telling if a full sized ATX board will fit in my case. To be honest I'm not even sure what the name of the case is. There are no markings on it at all. Here is a picture of the inside of my mid-tower... Can you tell by looking at the picture if a full sized ATX would fit in there?

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/1406/dscn0411y.jpg


I may give Windows 7 a shot as a secondary and keep Vista as my primary... but a new OS costs money more money. I don't have the discs for Vista so a reboot of Vista is not possible, otherwise I'd dual boot Vista and 7 and scrub XP all together. My secondary tower has it for all the old games I like to play.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

I think that'll fit.

ATX standard is 7 PCI expansion slots (correct me if I am wrong)
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I think that'll fit.

ATX standard is 7 PCI expansion slots (correct me if I am wrong)
No, you are correct. An ATX board will fit right in there.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

So I got this MoBo. It looks as if I will be able to migrate everything over with ease without having to upgrade more or add parts. My CPU, RAM and GPU will all fit and are compatible. In addition I got 4GB more of the same RAM I have now for a total of 8GB. I also got a copy of Windows 7 - 64 BIT OEM from Newegg too. I plan on taking Trotter's advice and just doing a clean install of Windows 7. I may keep XP just as a backup.

I do not foresee there being any issues, does anyone else?
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Looking for a new MoBo

Looks and sounds good, mate. You will be very happy with the results.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Ram? Mobo? Zanghor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-28-2007 10:35 AM
Micro ATX mobo vs ATX mobo newton System Upgrades 3 07-24-2006 02:25 AM
New Mobo? Blackmoore Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 12-10-2004 12:57 AM
front panel mobo connectors and front audio mobo connectors help!!! ardy89 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-19-2004 11:06 AM
Will ECC RAM run on a non ECC mobo? YanBooth Overclocking and Modding 3 11-14-2004 03:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.