Looking to get rid of corsair ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Looking to get rid of corsair ram

So since im ordering my monitor from tiger I thought I'd get some new ram too while im at it. What do you guys think of this

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...482928&CatId=0

its gonna replace my

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450

I know OCZ is no g skill but TD doesn't carry g skill and im trying to get it all together

Anyways will the OCZ pwn the corsair? Is it a good buy or ate their better OCZ deals at TD
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

The ram you wanna get wont work with your mobo because its 240pin and your old stuff is 184pin
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Oh yeha my mobo is

DFI Lanpaty UT NF4 Ultra D
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

why u want a different ram? what are u trying to do? and u motherboard doesnt support ddr2 it supports ddr1.
efd753 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

Thats the board I have I was pretty sure it supports ddr2

The corsir is only 1gb and people before told me instead opf buying another corsair stick to step it up to g skill or ocz cause they give better peformance

here is my sig I used to have it has all my old specs

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...ynedayssig.jpg
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

The Ultra-D uses plain old DDR RAM, not DDR2. Back to the drawing board for Dwayne.

Getting 2GB of RAM isn't a bad idea, but unless you are overclocking a lot, you won't realy see a performance increase after switching to G.Skill from Corsair. And even then, Corsair isn't all that shabby at overclocking.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

That sucks, so just stick with the cor?
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Yeah, unless you can get it sold, and then buy 2GB of any DDR RAM you wish!

Are you into overclocking? What are the timings on the RAM you have?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 01:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Im not into overclocking

I pulled up my old order report. This is the exact ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450

2-3-3-6
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

more input? Anyone?
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.