looking to get a new cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2010, 12:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Escalon Ca
Posts: 41
Default looking to get a new cpu

alright well its time i get a new cpu i curently have a
AMD Athlon LE-1640 its a 2.7ghz and single core:-( and my mother board is
ASUS M3A76-CM
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A76-CM AM2+/AM2 AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
the motherboards user manual says that this board supports multi-core processors and up to 125w so the question i have and hope anyone could give me an answer will my board be able to support a quad-core processor this is the cpu that i would like to get and its also a socket am2+

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

so would i be able to use this cpu on my board


light45
__________________

Light45 is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

I couldn't find your "mini" but this is where I like to go for these answers . That link is close but not exact to your model
__________________

__________________
asus striker extreme/e6850/4g ddr2 800/8800gts640sli
septic is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 07:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

Yes. It is on the cpu support list. It requires bios version 0302 so you may need to flash your bios.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

spend $4 more on this
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

your mobo will support it and you will be able to move it over to a new build whenever you decide to upgrade further to a am3/ddr3.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Escalon Ca
Posts: 41
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
spend $4 more on this
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

your mobo will support it and you will be able to move it over to a new build whenever you decide to upgrade further to a am3/ddr3.



Idk how my mobo will support it my mobo only supports sockets am2 and am2+
And that one is am3
Light45 is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

am3 is backwards compatible and it is on the cpu support list for your board. requires bios ver 1105 depending upon version.

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDX955FBK4DGI),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Quad-Core 1.00G
1001

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDX955FBK4DGM),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C3,SocketAM3,Quad-Core 1.00G
1104

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDZ955FBK4DGI),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Quad-Core ALL
0504

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDZ955FBK4DGM),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C3,SocketAM3,Quad-Core ALL
1105
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Escalon Ca
Posts: 41
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

i was looking at new mobo and i was wondering if this would be a good one to get i would like to have cross fire eventualy and this board will let me do it and it also has am2+/am3 cpu

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA790GXE 128M AM2+/AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Light45 is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 12:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Light45 View Post
i was looking at new mobo and i was wondering if this would be a good one to get i would like to have cross fire eventualy and this board will let me do it and it also has am2+/am3 cpu

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TA790GXE 128M AM2+/AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
If I were you, I wouldn't upgrade without just going AM3.

Wait and save your money until you can afford new RAM + new motherboard.
For now, you could just buy an AM3 CPU and wait to do a larger upgrade later.

Upgrading your motherboard without moving to DDR3 and AM3 doesn't seem worth it to me.

And you'd be stuck with DDR2/AM2+ using an AM3 CPU until you finally did upgrade in the future...
Your AM3 CPU would be bottlenecked for even longer if you upgrade the motherboard without going AM3.




[ Just to clarify what I'm talking about... ]

AM2+/AM3 motherboards only take DDR2 RAM
AM3 motherboards only take DDR3 RAM

AM3 CPU's can work in either motherboard though, because AM3 CPUs have both a DDR2 memory controller and a DDR3 memory controller.
Though you could consider running an AM3 CPU with DDR2 RAM as a memory bottleneck.



[EDIT]
Luckily I just found this article...
http://www.techspot.com/news/36314-a...ip-thuban.html

So I guess Phenom II X6 will be backwards compatible...
So AM2+ will survive for a while longer I suppose lol.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 09:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Escalon Ca
Posts: 41
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
If I were you, I wouldn't upgrade without just going AM3.

Wait and save your money until you can afford new RAM + new motherboard.
For now, you could just buy an AM3 CPU and wait to do a larger upgrade later.

Upgrading your motherboard without moving to DDR3 and AM3 doesn't seem worth it to me.

And you'd be stuck with DDR2/AM2+ using an AM3 CPU until you finally did upgrade in the future...
Your AM3 CPU would be bottlenecked for even longer if you upgrade the motherboard without going AM3.




[ Just to clarify what I'm talking about... ]

AM2+/AM3 motherboards only take DDR2 RAM
AM3 motherboards only take DDR3 RAM

AM3 CPU's can work in either motherboard though, because AM3 CPUs have both a DDR2 memory controller and a DDR3 memory controller.
Though you could consider running an AM3 CPU with DDR2 RAM as a memory bottleneck.



[EDIT]
Luckily I just found this article...
AMD confirms hexa-core desktop chip, Thuban - TechSpot News

So I guess Phenom II X6 will be backwards compatible...
So AM2+ will survive for a while longer I suppose lol.
money is not a problem but i think i have found what i want but if anyone could find it anywhere else cheeper it would be appreciated
mobo
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
cpu
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops


and yes i will also get some ram but i can buy that in a store the mobo and cpu i would get online if i can find the right deal, also if anyone finds an ohter mobo let me know at a reasonable price and it also has to support crossfire and amd am3 cpu
Light45 is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: looking to get a new cpu

If you're going to drop $120~ on a motherboard I suggest waiting a little bit and buying an 8XX series chipset motherboard as the 890GX just released this past week and is only $150 right now.

Those motherboards are Niiiiiiiiice.
If I were you, I'd go 890GX or whatever 8XX chipset motherboard is around the corner for your price range.
I'd say it's only a matter of a couple weeks or so for a $120 8XX chipset motherboard to release.

AMD 890GX Chipset Review - Page 1 - Introduction
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Fan/Heatsink Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-14-2009 03:58 PM
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM
Help with CPU and GPU upgrades. Dizzychug System Upgrades 33 10-11-2008 11:52 PM
Which CPU cooler would be most benefical? grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2008 10:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.