Looking to get First CPU cooler

Status
Not open for further replies.

JayMiller8080

In Runtime
Well, as the title suggest, I am preparing to buy my first CPU cooler. I built my first computer back in January and it has been running great. Now I'm looking to getting into some overclocking and more advanced concepts. I know that for overclocking it's pretty much a necessity to have an after market CPU cooler, so I come seeking advice.

First, is there a difference between a Heatsink and a CPU cooler? I hear these terms a lot, but don't know if there's a difference.

Second, I seem to remember being interested in buying a Dark Knight a while back. I know it would look great and fit with my current set up, but I don't know if it's what I need or not. Any opinions on it?

Any other advice/tips would be greatly appreciated! I'm just a noob. :yum:

EDIT: Also, before I even get started on anything more advanced, I'd like to make sure things are running fairly smoothly to begin with. I recently got CPUID Monitor, yet I don't really know what temperatures/values everything is supposed to be at anyway. :neutral: Here's a shot of my last check. Does everything look okay? What things should I really keep an eye out for? I've heard core temperature, for instance, is more significant that CPU temperature. Again, any help is greatly appreciated. Just trying to learn as much as I can. :smile:

Question.. You're using an i7 920 and a GTX 260 on a 1024x768 screen? :tongue:

Most people would recommend a Megahalems CPU cooler with two fans mounted to it

Newegg.com - Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

a heatsink is the large metal chunk that sits on top of a CPU or other processor / chip that draws heat away from the device into the fins of the heatsink.

A CPU Cooler is a combination of a heatsink and a fan, a heatsink alone, or a waterblock for watercooling. Much more general of a term than heatsink.