Looking for the future, upgrading for Battle Feild 2 and others! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default Looking for the future, upgrading for Battle Feild 2 and others!

hey all, my curren computer is as follows:

Asus P5PLD-2 Mobo
Pentium 4 630 3.0ghz proccessor
1 GB duel Channel OCZ DDR2 533mhz Ram
MSI NX6600GT


Now i want to upgrade so i can play battle feild 2 and maybe some other games coming out soon, i can run CS source and Age of Empires 3 fine on fairly high settings but battle feild 2 will cause problems.

So i guess im askin what can i do with what i have upgrade wise? Should i switch tha video card next to the 7800 (wait for the G8's) so the 7800 goes down in price. Or i was wondering if i would notice an improvement if i went for Pentium D, or maybe just upgraed the single core to say a 3.4 or 3.6?

Any help appreciated.
__________________

ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

I would say a move to AMD dual cores but that could cost $400 to $500 so I would say a Pentium D.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

An Opteron 165 would be a good choice. 1.8ghz dual core. Very overclockable. You can hit at least 2.5 on stock voltages with no worry about heat.

As for the graphics card, waiting for the G80 would probably be your best choice, as it will support DX10, which will be necessary to run games under vista.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by U-Toast
An Opteron 165 would be a good choice. 1.8ghz dual core. Very overclockable. You can hit at least 2.5 on stock voltages with no worry about heat.

As for the graphics card, waiting for the G80 would probably be your best choice, as it will support DX10, which will be necessary to run games under vista.
Moving to AMD would be expensive as ****, first i wouldhave to change the mobo (close to 200) then the CPU (close to 150-300) then i would need new ram cause AMD does not support DDR2 (so ad in another 100-150) so that upgrade for CPU improvement onl (with out really adding to the RAM) will end up costing about 450-700 dollars. I know very one stresses how good amd is for gaming but its not like Intel is terrible at it, amd just does it better so on the intel side of the fence what can i do?
ki9090 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Oh man, here i go again.

AMD cpus are more efficient than intel, they are able to do more work per clock cycle, which is why they perform as well/outperform intel CPUs which are in the 3+ ghz.

The AMD Opteron 165 is one of the favorit CPUs for gaming/work related usage. You might want to do a little research about it before posting another comment.

But pushing the voltages up a little, depending on the stepping you get, you can hit anywhere from 2.7-3.0 on stock air cooling. You are paying 320$ for a cpu which almost matches up with the FX series.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Your current CPU is ok. It is not as good as AMD, however for the price you would pay to switch to AMD vs the performance increase you would recieve; I would personaly not recomend it.

A more practical upgrade would be your video card. Get a 7800gt or a 7900gt, and that will run BF2 on max settings. Also maybe through in an extra 1gb of RAM if you can afford it. (BF2 uses a lot of RAM space)
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.