Looking for a decent 2GB set - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 03:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

u dont get it? k to get 3200 to speed of 4000 u need to loosen the timings. thoses timign u posted is also stock for 3200 speeds not for 3200 oced.

You lower the timign on 4000 ram is you watn to runing at 3200.

I still dotn eget why ppl get expensive 3200 ram just so they can add voltage and loosesn their timing to get higher speeds.

When u can just buy 4000 ram and not wory about the high voltage or messing with timings.

And yeah i know u use ram dividers but what the point of using ram dividers with ocable ram?

Get the 4000 man and forget about thoses 3200.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

THE 4000 HAS SUCKY TIMINGS AT DDR500 SPEEDS, SO IF YOU CAN GET EXPENSIVE 3200 AND GET IT TO DDR500 SPEEDS AND LOOSEN THE TIMINGS TO LIKE 2-3-3-10 THAT WOULD BE MUCH BETTER THEN 3-3-3-8 do you see what im trying to say here?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 05:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

if it works like that then k. I thought u had to go to 3 or 4 timing to get 3200 to 4000 speeds k. Good luck on your overcloaking.
efd753 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:47 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Actualy if he ran it at 3200 speeds im sure he would get around 2-2-2-6 or something. If you get ****ty 4000 and run it at 4000 speeds you have to go w/ the timings that are stock w/ it. If you get really good OCable 3200 you can make it 4000 speeds, add some voltage, and tighten the timings as well. OCing is very complicated and if you dont know what your talking about you can sound very stupid.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how much do timings really help?
they're measured in clock cycles. and there are 400,000,000 clock cycles in 1 second for PC3200.
1 clock cycle takes 1/400,000,000 of a second.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:14 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

timings only help in benchmarks, in gaming 2 or 3 there is no difference

i want some good benchy's to brag about
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would prefer to have loose timings and a fast speed
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

WoW these ram prices are dropping like crazy, now the G.skill extreme;s are only 207 down from 212, should i buy now or wait..hmm
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.