Looking to buy a new Desktop. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2007, 09:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

First off, it may be locked from overclocking. If it's not, it probably would void the warranty.
__________________

andrus is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 09:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Don't get dual 8800GTX. One is MORE than plenty, trust me.

Don't get a physics processing unit, the 8800GTX already has one.

2 gigabytes of ram is plenty, Windows XP can't even utilize 4 gigs.

Don't know about overclocking on Alienware mobos, not sure if the bios is locked or not. Can't tell you which to decide.

Good luck
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 09:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Ok so does the overclocked processor make a big preformance difference?
UnknownGamer101 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 09:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

The reason why the things are over kill is because I am going to keep this computer for a long time without upgrading it much.
UnknownGamer101 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Unless the overclock is substantial, you aren't going to notice it much, except on benchmarks.

Please, just for me, don't get the PPU or the extra GTX. :P
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 10:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Why?
UnknownGamer101 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 10:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Reason not to get the PPU: The 8800 GTX Has one on it (it's a 512mb card, with a 256 mb PPU)

Reason not to get dual GTX: SLI doesn't mean you're going to be 2 fold better, it's a slight increase, it's more for overclockers.

If you were an "Extreme Overclocker" go for it (you're buying premade, which pretty much rules that out), but you say you're an Extreme Gamer, getting 1 top of the line (yes, the 8800 GTX is the best you can get for gaming at the moment) will be plenty

Also I'm assuming you're a WoW player...lets get real, nearly anything can run that game. But I'm gonna give you the benefit of the doubt and say that this rig is for future games... One 8800 GTX is still plenty.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 10:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Yeah I play a lot of WoW and other games, but the reason for the stuff is for the future and right now I am running a 2002 piece of junk and if you have vent we can discuss this.
UnknownGamer101 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I do have vent, but my mic sounds like a crackling fire of ****.. Note to self: Don't leave your mic on the floor.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

lol
__________________

UnknownGamer101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.