Looking To Build My Own Computer And I Need Your Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

edgewoodzgimp13

Baseband Member
Hey guys! Just registered here and hope to learn a lot more about computers than I already know. A little bit about me: IÂ’m a 17-year old student at a vocational school in Rhode Island. IÂ’m in my 3rd year in the Computer Technology program, so as you can see I have some pretty good experience with computers. Recently my class has put together a rather decent computer and seeing as my current computer is old, out of date, slow, and annoying; IÂ’m looking into building one for myself. The real problem for me lately is I canÂ’t multitask worth of crap.

Now I know the kind of computer I build depends on my needs and what I will be doing but in all honesty, IÂ’m not even sure exactly what it will be used for. IÂ’m not an avid gamer, I do most of my time on the computer reading cell phone forums, (another hobby of mine) and downloading games and movies via torrents. Another thing I do mostly is burn DVD, whether it is a direct DVD to DVD copy or making my own off the video files I download. So basically I need something good and fast for video encoding. I want something decent for graphics and gaming because I might start playing World of Warcraft with a few friends of mine and maybe try a few other games; IÂ’m more of a console gamer if anything. Also, I want a good motherboard incase I upgrade either my CPU or RAM later on down the line.

Right now IÂ’m working on a Dell Dimension 4300. It has an Intel P4 1.8GHz 640MB of RAM, 40GB HD master, 250GB HD slave, 16x DVD Burner, 24x CD-RW Burner, and a nVidia GeForce 3 64MB video card.