Looking at AMD x2 3600's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2007, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Looking at AMD x2 3600's

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
Thats a Brisbane

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Windsor 2.0GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
Thats a Windsor

Whats the diff?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

Brisbane is 65nm, Windsor is 90nm
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

The Brisbane will run cooler, because of it's smaller 65nm process, and has more cache. I'd get the Brisbane.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

yeah the brisbane will be a better bet, and it has 2x512kb L2 as apposed to the 2x256kb L2 on the windsor.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

it also will (quite likely w/ the right mobo) pull a higher overclock than the windsors. as in 3ghz +.
i am thinking seriously of getting one myself (like today) along with a nforce 590 mobo...
haven't decided which one yet, probably the foxconn.
and probably some g skill hk's so i can see if sora is FOS or not, lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

if u decide any good combos, tell me cuz i'm considering buying it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

i say definitely get a 590 chipset. apokalipse has told me, and all research i have done point to the 590 being an overclocking monster with the am2. especially this little 65nm brisbane cpu.
i just haven't narrowed it down. i know ecs has a 590 mobo for like less than 100.00, but dont know what the oc options are like.
i have read that the foxconn w/590 can oc am2 WELL past 3ghz. thats probably the one i will go with.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

so can u show me a build for $800-$900 that has that brisbane and junk, i will be OC'ing the monster, so I want a good cooler in it (or does the AMD Stock Cooler do good, like the Intel one) video card, maybe a sound card i'm not entirely sure, but if u can squeeze it in the budget thats cool
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

Heres a list I created, that includes the Brisbane and stuff:
https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...0%2D900+budget

Just pick your case and a sound card, because I wasn't sure on them.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Looking at AMD x2 3600's

the build b1gapl suggested is a nice build for the price.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.