Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

I had posted another thread earlier this week about upgrades, well I almost bought an AMD setup , but I received a lot of great advice about other options (mainly intel).

So what I am trying to do now is just drop another CPU in my socket 939 (AMD 64 3700+ Sandy in there now). For starters I am not a very good OCer in fact I tried to figure it out, and well I won't even bother my system runs 41 degrees idle stock and I doubt I need to try and tweak it.

So having said that, whats a cheap processor to drop in that would give me a good boost in gaming? I am going to look at intels in a few months.

Thanks for all the help guys, this forums is like the best place for advice.
__________________

DavidJC is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

whats ur budget? for 939, I'd recomend the x2 3800+ or x2 4200+ and if u can splurge for it the Opteron 165
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
whats ur budget? for 939, I'd recomend the x2 3800+ or x2 4200+ and if u can splurge for it the Opteron 165
I can splurge if I wanted to I guess, but really there are not any games recently that have given my setup any problems. I just wanted to add a little something to the CPU until I feel like getting a major upgrade and reassembling my computer.

I saw that the 3800+ is dirt cheap, but forgive me for my ignorance, is that going to be a bi improvement over a 3700 single core AMD? I have been told now twice that the x2 3800 is a good choice for now, until I go major and upgrade a lot more.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

ya.. its a good choice.. but if you wanna overclock the x2 4200+ is better it limits at around 3.0ghz(i see that your not... don't worry I'll convince you eventually ) while the 3800+ limits at around 2.7ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ya.. its a good choice.. but if you wanna overclock the x2 4200+ is better it limits at around 3.0ghz(i see that your not... don't worry I'll convince you eventually ) while the 3800+ limits at around 2.7ghz
Well I am not against OCing, it's just I don't know how, I sort of peeked into bios, but I'd rather not have my system become disabled, in short it's not the time in my life to experiment with my only computer hehe.

And if the 3800 will give me noticeable improvement that's all I need then later in a few months I will buy a new mobo, CPU, RAM, and video card. It's just oblivion is running slow with all the mods I have now. So I want to iron that out as cheaply as possible.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

if Oblivion is giving your PC a hard time, try out OldBlivion patch (google it) but it drops Oblivion to Dx8 and ti even plays on this system... xD
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

Ok you convincedme I will order the 4200, toldeo or Manchester? Also do I need diff ram I have PC 3200 at the moment
DavidJC is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

I still haven't figured out the difference between those.. lmao.. ask somebody else, as for that oldblvion heres the Site:

Oldblivion

Socket 939 requires ddr 266 ddr 300 or ddr400
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

Well without all the scripting running from big mods the game runs flawlessly. So I would rather not mess with Oldblivion, as I use a lot of mods. Ok though I will look to get one of those 4200 CPUs it looks like I can just pop it in my mobo and get a big increase in performance.
DavidJC is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 06:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Little help on a cheap "get me by" CPU

Ok I can't find teh Opteron 165 anywhere so I guess I would have to get a 175, I figured might as well spend an extra 50 bucks for something better lol.


Eh? Where the **** do you buy an opty 165, no one has them
__________________

DavidJC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.