List of parts before ordering - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2006, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default List of parts before ordering

Hi!

I have a list of parts that i want to order very soon but just wanted to make sure everything is compatible and if anyone had any suggestions on how to make it better ect.

I have a budget of £300 ($560) including delivery.

I'll be replacing: Case, Motherboard, CPU, Graphics Card

A tought budget you say :P i agree, but im sure it will be better than my 3.0ghz Intel Celeron with onboard graphics :P

It will be used for gaming, i'm not expecting amazing gameplay but oviously something to make it playable. I won't be doing any overclocking as i don't know how and dont want to risk damaging components.


Here is my list of current parts.

Motherboard
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...roductID=14829

-Not to sure why i chose this one, its cheap and has all the features i need, I have an AsRock motherboard in another computer and it has never been any problem.

£38.13 Inc VAT

Processor
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

-Everyone keeps saying how the conroe's are better than the dual core AMD's so i thought i better go with the flow :P. A 1.8 is all i can fit into the budget at the moment, as i'm more concerned about a better graphics card.

£124.26 inc vat

Graphics Card

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/7600_Series.html
(BFG 3DFuzion GeForce 7600 GT 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-025-BG)

-Looks a good card, has good reviews and seems a good choice for my budget

£88.11 Including VAT

Case

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...82&GroupID=511

-Is a cheap case but seems it will do everything i need it to.

£22.85 Inc VAT

Case Fans

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...09&GroupID=358

-Case fan with tempurature control

£2.00 Inc VAT

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...beam_Fans.html
(Antec SmartCool 92mm Thermally Controlled Fan)

-Another fan, however this one is 92mm, again thermally controlled

£3.47 Including VAT



Delivery: £19.00 ($35)

Total (Including Delivery): £298 ($557)



This is the best i have come up with, but will it all work together? And does anyone have any suggestions on how it could be better for the money? Unfortunatley newegg doesnt ship to the UK so i have to buy from alternative sources :P
__________________

Matt_180 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

ASRock is sending some mixed messages on their site; it says it supports Conroe CPUs on the front page, however, there is not a single Conroe on the CPU support page.

Also, the board is Micro ATX, and your case seems to support only ATX.
__________________

__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the reply,

Only just realised about the case, i only thought to check if it was to small not to big.

And yes, i see what you mean about the AsRock mobo, maybe it would be better to choose another one instead to be safe.

Edit: Changed the motherboard, this should fit the case and it shows it supporting all the conroe models on AsRock's website
Matt_180 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

that mobo is the same one my friend bought mainly because he didn't have enough money to shell out for DDR2 and that asrock supports both DDR and DDR2.

He has had a few issues with his sound card with it are you purchasing DDR2 ram or sticking with DDR?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I'll be using DDR 1 Gig or memory
Matt_180 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

then your build all looks fine

and even though you said you wont be playing many games that pc will hold up very well with most new games just fine.

the case is a little bland but I guess its not a big deal as long as everything works.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.