Liquid Cooling or Fans?

Status
Not open for further replies.
The issue is, that the system is probably a total piece of crap.

And there comes a point where decent air cooling outperforms crappy water cooling

Obviously this computer will be for gaming. It will use good hardware like the Conroe E6600 and Nvidia 7900GT and 2GB of RAM. I don't think I'll overclock this pc because:

1. I've never done it before.

2. I would rather not learn how to OC on a $1300+ pc, no matter how easy and risk-free it could be.

So the question is: Would high end games like Oblivion and Half-Life2 cause the temperatures of the system to rise enough where I would need liquid cooling?

No, playing those games will not cause your pc enough to warrent using water cooling.

I only say this because a. the water cooling they offer is for the cpu only, and b because the conroe is a low power, thus low heat output chip. This is shown through the fact that it was modeled after intel core duo chips that have been growing in popularity for laptop users.

RalliArt882 said:
Obviously this computer will be for gaming. It will use good hardware like the Conroe E6600 and Nvidia 7900GT and 2GB of RAM. I don't think I'll overclock this pc because:

1. I've never done it before.

2. I would rather not learn how to OC on a $1300+ pc, no matter how easy and risk-free it could be.

So the question is: Would high end games like Oblivion and Half-Life2 cause the temperatures of the system to rise enough where I would need liquid cooling?

10:1 odds that he/she changes their mind wuthin 1 1/2 years. any takers?

You mean about the overclocking? No I doubt I'll ever OC my future rig for the reasons stated above. I'd feel like the biggest idiot if i just somehow managed to fry something in it, because i have no experience in doing it. I would think about it if i had the chance to OC a piece of junk rig, but I just dont have the resources for that.