Limited number of fans? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2008, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Limited number of fans?

Is the number of fans I am limited to based on the number of fan connectors there is on the mobo? or is there away I can expand upon this?
__________________

__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

u can add as many fans as you want ul have to hook them up to your psu but u wont have control over there speed.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

No. There is no limit to the number of fans. You can always get fans that connect through the molex connection of the PSU and draw power from there.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

awesome thanks, I wasnt sure, Ive never had more than 1 hooked up before so I wasnt sure
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
lol, old pic. Did anyone else notice that the I/O is on the same face as the optical drive?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

The only limits you have are how many watts your power supply is and how skilled you are at crafting your case. Other than that, you can basically make a whole case out of fans as shown above.
__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix219 View Post
The only limits you have are how many watts your power supply is and how skilled you are at crafting your case. Other than that, you can basically make a whole case out of fans as shown above.
Wattage doesn't matter. Most fans are less than 1A and then should draw too much power.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

if i made a case like that id put like grills over them or grate material.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Limited number of fans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
if i made a case like that id put like grills over them or grate material.
But it's more fun seeing all those fans spin.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec 900 stock fans question MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 7 01-24-2008 06:12 PM
Desktop Fans Speed HussRam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-04-2007 01:00 PM
Antec 900- disable LEDs in the fans? Vaanish Overclocking and Modding 10 10-19-2007 05:29 PM
Fans sounding...well odd. bmxfreakrider Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-09-2007 05:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.