LF Mobo, cpu, ram upgrade under 350 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2009, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default LF Mobo, cpu, ram upgrade under 350

so I build my computer a few years back and have slowly upgraded alot of stuff. but my mother board and CPU are getting a bit out dated as I still run with a single core. my other problem is I only have 1 gig of ram.
I am a gamer. and I compile alot of data. I make music and videos on my PC.

my current specs are as follows.

P4 3.0 GHz CPU with hyperthreading.
Geforce 8800 GTS SSC EVGA PCI-E 16x (its a pci-e v1 not 2)
1gig corsair ram
1 250 gig sata 1.5ghz hard drive, and 1 500g sata data drive.
1 soundblaster 24bit live! sound card.
1 nic card. (10-100-1000)
~edit. 750w Powersupply

so I need at least 2 PCI slots that are useable while the video card is set up. and hopefully a few USB ports so I can hook up all my sound devices.
if I forgot any info that is needed, post and I'll repley soon as I can.
__________________

turtlenumber13 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: LF Mobo, cpu, ram upgrade under 350

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - OCZ Obsidian 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model OCZ3OB1600LV4GK - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - ASUS M4A77TD Pro AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

total: $345
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: LF Mobo, cpu, ram upgrade under 350

So its looking to me like amd is the only way to go for a budget now adays?

the hardest thing for me is finding mobo CPU and ram that are compatible.
turtlenumber13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Cpu or Gpu? michaelvvmm System Upgrades 14 10-16-2009 10:26 PM
New RAM upgrade acting up shaf3y Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-24-2009 06:32 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Upgrading RAM from 2gb > 4gb and mobo compatibility rayzolight System Upgrades 6 12-03-2008 02:44 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.