Leaving PSU on with IP35E - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2008, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Millbrook, IL
Posts: 174
Default Leaving PSU on with IP35E

I had a few questions. First, is there any harm done leaving the PSU on when I shut the computer down? As you guys know about the IP35E the thing is awesome with the exception of the cold start double boot. I am just wondering how much is actually kept powered up at that point, because there is one red LED on the MOBO that is on at that time.

Also, how difficult is it to swap out MOBOs? As if I wanted to upgrade motherboards to one that doesn't double boot and may be better overall, do I have to wipe the HD or anything?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

gsteffens is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

If you shut off the computer, the power supply should shut off as well.
There will be LED's on the mobo that stay on even when a computer is off, this is normal.

It is not difficult to change mobos, for XP a repair install may work, but a format and reinstall is always reccomended.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

I have an IP35-E and I do not shut off the psu when I turn off the pc. If the double boot bothers you try flashing the BIOS to a newer version which may fix the problem.

Overall I think the IP35-E is a good enough board to more than make up for the cold start double boot.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Millbrook, IL
Posts: 174
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

Okay, so if I physically swapped motherboards out, what would I have to do? You say recovery would do it? Is that just booting from the xp CD?

formatting and reinstalling, would that wipe the HD clean?


Just wanted to make sure, so for now I will just leave the PSU flipped on. Thanks.

I have read and read about the double boot and even the newest one does not fix the double boot from a cold start.
gsteffens is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

Always back up your data first, the repair installation of XP is NOT garunteed to work.

Have Back ups before starting.

Pop in your XP disk, boot off of it, go to install windows, it will detect a previous version, hit R to run a repair.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Millbrook, IL
Posts: 174
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

ok. It's just a gaming rig now so there is absolutely nothing crucial loaded yet.

So pretty much what you are saying, is I should be able to swap boards, and do a repair install, and run my OS off the new board? If it works correctly?
gsteffens is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

Well if there is no important data on the drive, then just format and do a fresh install.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Millbrook, IL
Posts: 174
Default Re: Leaving PSU on with IP35E

Okay. I suppose if I come to some money I could try an upgraded mobo.

Is there any harm done with a double boot? I read a few places that it can damage the HD or put undue stress on it.
__________________

gsteffens is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.