LCD Resolution Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Neomenium
Default LCD Resolution Questions

Hi, I had a few questions about LCD Monitors. I am looking to get a widescreen 19-20 1440x900 or 1680x1050

-What is the difference between maximum and natural resolution
-when i look in my resolution settings I do not have the option to set the res to 1680x1050? is this because my current monitor does not support it, or (which what i think is the case)my video card (ATI X800 GTO) doesn't support that resolution?

These are the two monitors I am currently looking at:
-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16824112176
-http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1962525&Sku=A179-1919

If I can not utilize the 1680x1050 then I don't see any reason to spend the extra cash.

Any extra input or suggestions on monitors is welcomed.
Thank You.
__________________

Neomenium is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

The natural resolution is what will look best , whether it is the maximum or not.

Could be card or monitor, or could be both. One of them (at least) can't do it. [Well, after checking the specs of the X800GTO on NewEgg, it looks like some of them can easily do 1680x1050.]

Check the specs on your card. I just did a random sampling of X800GTO cards, but I have no idea which one you own.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

For an LCD native and maximum resolution are one in the same as far as I know. Never seen them be different anyways.

The resolution options are going to vary depending on the monitor you have installed. If you are currently using a 4:3 monitor, you will not have an option for 1680x1050 since this is a 16:10 (yeah, most wide screen comp LCD's are 16:10, not 16:9 ) resolution. This option will be there after you install the new monitor.

You might also want to look at the Dell 20" wide screen monitors. I have the 2005 which has been awesome, and I believe it is the 2007 out now which I have heard is great.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

If you're going to get a widescreen LCD and your looking at the 1650's, you really should go the full way and get real hi-def widescreen 1080p and get one that does 1920x1200. But that will cost a little more, at least you can use it for more things in the future though.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
The natural resolution is what will look best , whether it is the maximum or not.

Could be card or monitor, or could be both. One of them (at least) can't do it. [Well, after checking the specs of the X800GTO on NewEgg, it looks like some of them can easily do 1680x1050.]

Check the specs on your card. I just did a random sampling of X800GTO cards, but I have no idea which one you own.
All X800GTOs will have the same specs and features, regardless of the brand. As will any video card.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

some x800gto's are 128 and some are 256mb.. some have gddr2 and some have gddr3 memory..

the'features' should all be the same tho..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ice=&maxPrice=

there's even one with 512mb memory....
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.