Lcd monitor/tv - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Lcd monitor/tv

Hi all, i'm not a nub to games but when it comes to hardware im kinda mad nubish so take it easy on me =P....I have 2 questions.

Question 1- I've heard recently that you can get a lcd tv and hook it up as your monitor, I was wondering if this feature can be utilized by all lcd tvs or just some special features on some of em?

Question 2- Is there any lcd tv that has this feature that is highly appraised by gamers or that you guys would recommend? I'm mainly looking for an lcd tv thats between 27-37 inches for under 1k.

Any help is greatly apperciated =) thx for ur time.
__________________

xpacifistx is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Lcd monitor/tv

I'll tell you what little I can. LCD tv's are good becasue you see their price and you're like HOLY COW 500 for 30 inches or something. But...their resolution isn't good. It's around 1366x768, which is disgusting. It's around a 15-17 inch monitor's resolution. SO...If you have a budget that high (anything lower than 1k) I would just get a regular 22 inch Samsung monitor. I THINK it's the 226bw. However, there are some problems with it, such as there being three different models. The A, C, and S. If you get an S, you're lucky. If you get any other model, you aren't. SO...you would have to calibrate it.
__________________

techman321 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Lcd monitor/tv

Well the reason i was considering the buying an lcd tv and use it for a monitor is because i need a new tv ne wayz and im soon gonna build a high end comp...jus thought that way i might b able to kill 2 birds wit 1 stone so to speak
xpacifistx is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Lcd monitor/tv

That will work, if you don't mind the low resolution of an LCD TV. heh...You'll get higher framerates on that resolution.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Lcd monitor/tv

Low resolution with an LCD tv doesn't look so nice..
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Lcd monitor/tv

I have a 32" LCD TV, with a resolution of 1366 x 768. It doesn't look that bad. It was clear to me, since that it's native resolution. But I couldn't fit a lot into the screen, compared to my 22" LCD.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitor/TV XP impguardman Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-15-2007 11:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.