Largest Performance Gain - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 09:48 AM   #51 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Barcelona is a server processor
which is still a K10 processor.




Quote:
The only major difference I see is higher HT speed, and the addition of L3 cache.
Then I see you don't know a lot about K10.




Quote:
You said in your previous post that "Penryn hasn't got a lot of change", which is not true at all.
It is compared to the changes in K10.

Quote:
Just look at the benchmarks at this website, you can see a comparison between QX6800 and Quad core version of Penryn (Yorkfield)
Welcome to AnandTech.com [ Article: Intel Penryn Performance Preview: The Fastest gets Faster]

In one of those benchmarks tests Yorkfield performed 111% faster than QX6800 !!!!
sure, one benchmark.
extra cache will do that for encoding.

*edit*
also consider the fact that the Yorksfield was clocked higher.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 10:16 AM   #52 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

Quote:
It is compared to the changes in K10.
Thats your opinion. But this doesn't mean that your opinion is a fact.

However, Athlon64 is horrible CPU compared to Core 2 Duo, so AMD needs to do a lot of changes for Athlon64 in order to compete with Intel upcoming processors. Intel doesn't need to do a lot of changes for Core 2 Duo


Quote:
sure, one benchmark.
extra cache will do that for encoding.
And do you think that cache alone will make the processor run 2 times as much as fast in encoding ? !!!

By your logic, E6320 should be at least %100 faster that E4300 in encoding, since it has double the cache. But thats not true.


Quote:
also consider the fact that the Yorksfield was clocked higher.
It was only 300MHz faster !!!, and it has 1333MHz FSB.

But what is the problem with that ?

Yorksfield has 45nm die shrink, it can achieve higher clocks without consuming any extra power.

..............

Now let us end this debate. Barcelona will come out sometime on June or July, and at that time we will see if it will be able to beat Core 2 Qaud or not.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:08 AM   #53 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

i think these new cpu's r goin to be sick! amd and intel who will win?
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:34 AM   #54 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Thats your opinion. But this doesn't mean that your opinion is a fact.
Please read more about K10's architecture.



Quote:
However, Athlon64 is horrible CPU compared to Core 2 Duo
Wait, this coming immediately after your previous comment?

Quote:
so AMD needs to do a lot of changes for Athlon64 in order to compete with Intel upcoming processors. Intel doesn't need to do a lot of changes for Core 2 Duo
AMD are making a lot of changes.

Quote:
And do you think that cache alone will make the processor run 2 times as much as fast in encoding ? !!!
It can, depending on what is being encoded, and in what format. Encoding does require a lot of data to be sent to and from the CPU, so more cache really helps.

The fact that most other benchmarks were in the range of 10-25% improved, while encoding got a much bigger jump, does make my case look more probable.

Quote:
By your logic, E6320 should be at least %100 faster that E4300 in encoding, since it has double the cache. But thats not true.
Again, it depends on what's being encoded, and in what format.

Quote:
It was only 300MHz faster !!!, and it has 1333MHz FSB.
And in most tests, it was roughly 10-25% better, which is evidence against the architecture making much of the difference to that performance gain, rather than the frequency.

Quote:
But what is the problem with that ?
I'm not saying it's a problem. Just that the actual architectural improvements are much easier to compare with them both at the same clock speeds.

Quote:
Now let us end this debate. Barcelona will come out sometime on June or July, and at that time we will see if it will be able to beat Core 2 Qaud or not.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:36 AM   #55 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

who can u seeing winning the battle in the future?
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:43 AM   #56 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
who can u seeing winning the battle in the future?
The future is inherently unpredictable. All we can do is try and make probability statements based on information about what is happening now.

AMD claims K10 to have at least a double figure percent advantage over current Intel quad cores. If so, this will at least put K10 close to Penryn in most applications
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:47 AM   #57 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

it will be interestin
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:48 AM   #58 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

While C2D beats the current AMD architecture, it doesn't beat it by miles, but by inches. Bleeding edge is where companies want to be, but that razor is a hard one to walk.

I look forward to the new generation of AMD's chips, just to see the further evolution of the species. I seriously doubt I'll be able to buy into it, but I definitely want to see it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:50 AM   #59 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

yeah me to, tho i prefer intel
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:52 AM   #60 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Largest Performance Gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
While C2D beats the current AMD architecture, it doesn't beat it by miles, but by inches. Bleeding edge is where companies want to be, but that razor is a hard one to walk.

I look forward to the new generation of AMD's chips, just to see the further evolution of the species. I seriously doubt I'll be able to buy into it, but I definitely want to see it.
Well said....the K8 is already only slightly slower than the C2D's really and AMD skipped their K9 and their K10 will most likely be a lot faster than the C2D at this rate. I'm interested to see as well who will come out on top but it doesn't matter as long as both companies are close enough to keep the prices competitive and then the real winners are us.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
XP performance monitor disabled 1Mdlls Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 11:01 PM
Performance Problem Verty333 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-01-2007 10:33 PM
Upgrade CPU or GPU which will give better performance.. Willeh New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-20-2007 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.