large monitor - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 12:26 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: large monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
nope, an ultra would have a hard time keeping up high FPS on a 28" on modern games like Cod4 and crysis
I'm pretty sure he'd watch movies on the big screen and gaming on the other, because the reciprocal is just... suicidal for your video card
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:33 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: large monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I'm pretty sure he'd watch movies on the big screen and gaming on the other, because the reciprocal is just... suicidal for your video card
ya but even at that, the second monitor runs at 1680x1050, thats still a lot for a 8800Gt to handle, especially on newer games....

I still dont think it would be possible to run a movie on a 28" while playing a game. Thats a lot for your comp to handle. Unless of course you have a monster of a computer
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:37 AM   #23 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

ok. is there anything in the 28+ range that can game and make it look nice? even if its just a single monitor, no dualscreen. Or am i stuck to my 22.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: large monitor

we're saying its suicidal because of the giant resolution, only solution to that is either SLi or Crossfire, low settings or low resolution or crappier resolution monitor
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:43 AM   #25 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
i wanted a big monitor to play games on, but didnt want to go SLI ultras for it to run smoothly, so i went with a 32" 720p LCD tv. You should consider a 27"-30" 720p (1360x768) for gaming if you plan on using a 8800GT because you could run most games on high settings with that monitor/GPU combo.
Do you play games like cod4 on this monitor? If so, does cod4 look good and not crappy at the lower res?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:50 AM   #26 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

Ahh ok thanks guys anyway, i was typing the last post while you guys posted.

I dont have the money for sli, so i looks like im stuck to my 226bw
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:52 AM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: large monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
Do you play games like cod4 on this monitor? If so, does cod4 look good and not crappy at the lower res?
i play crysis on ultra high settings, and the game looks amazing. I am however, using a 8800GTS 512mb. You should achieve high settings no problem with some minor overclocking. 1360x768 is a really good resolution, and it wont disappoint. By no means is it a low resolution, but in comparison 1920x1200 looks much better. you just need a lot more horsepower to run it.

your best bet would be to find a friend who has a 28-32" LCD tv with 720p naitive reso and hook your comp up to it. Play a game or two and see how you like it.
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.