large monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default large monitor and graphics card compatibility

Im thinking of getting a 28inch lcd, ontop of my 226bw and three 15's. I would make it 28, 226bw, then two 15's if i can, but if not 15's its no biggie. Thereare two problems though. First off, can a 512gt even hold a 28inch lcd and 226bw enough to game? (i guess i could disable one and run off the other when gaming)

This is the monitor im looking at:
Newegg.com - Hanns·G HG-281DPB Black 28" 3ms Widescreen LCD HDMI Monitor 500 cd/m2 800:1 Built in Speakers - Retail
It runs at 1920x1200.

Also, if i wanted to watch a movie and game at the same time, is that possible? right now, once i boot up a game, the video goes black while audio stays on.

Thanks so much,
-taintedplay
EDIT: Is there any better monitors for the same price aprox?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: large monitor

well, it seems to have good reviews, just not many plugins and such. Only one hdmi and one vga.
__________________

dist101 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: large monitor and graphics card compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
Im thinking of getting a 28inch lcd, ontop of my 226bw and three 15's. I would make it 28, 226bw, then two 15's if i can, but if not 15's its no biggie. Thereare two problems though. First off, can a 512gt even hold a 28inch lcd and 226bw enough to game? (i guess i could disable one and run off the other when gaming)

This is the monitor im looking at:
Newegg.com - Hanns·G HG-281DPB Black 28" 3ms Widescreen LCD HDMI Monitor 500 cd/m2 800:1 Built in Speakers - Retail
It runs at 1920x1200.

Also, if i wanted to watch a movie and game at the same time, is that possible? right now, once i boot up a game, the video goes black while audio stays on.

Thanks so much,
-taintedplay
EDIT: Is there any better monitors for the same price aprox?

yes u can, i dont use multiple monitors but i know my friend does... somehow you drag the movie into the other window, start up the game, then maybe the other monitor will go black, so what you do is minimize the game and than reclick on that movie and then go back into the game
and than it should display the movie, u just have to go back to your desktop to change anything with the movie....

If that doesnt work google it, i know u can
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

alright thanks! know anything about this monitor and its ability to handle gaming?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

k i sent in my old 8800gts 320mb and my 512gt is coming in in a week. There is a good deal on this monitor i can get, i just need to know if the 8800gt can run both a 226bw at 1680x1050 and this at 1920x1200 at the same time, while gaming on one. Anyone know?

Also will i need a tv tuner to watch tv on it?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: large monitor

sorry, but bump.

Would the hannsG do everything the 226bw i have can do? Would i be better off selling the 226bw to help afford the HannsG?

Can i run both at the same time on a eVGA 512mb GT? And game on one while the other plays a movie?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: large monitor

From what i see the evga GT supports multiple monitors with Dual DVI/HDTV
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: large monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
From what i see the evga GT supports multiple monitors with Dual DVI/HDTV
all modern video cards do that....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: large monitor

A gt can handle a 28 and 22. A 28 is going to have the same resolution as a 24 and 22 the same as a 20. I run a 24/20 setup and my gt had no issues with it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: large monitor

That seems a little farfetched to have a game running at 1920x1200 and a monitor playing a movie at 1680x1050 unless your game is running on the abosolute lowest settings...especially if its a newer game.

Vernong is right, you can have both monitors running off one vid card no problem. I used to have my 32" and 19" hooked up to a 1650 pro, tried using the 32" to play games and my 19" to manage the music and MSN, but it never worked properly.

I would do a lot of research on this topid before buying more monitors
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.