Laptop for gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2005, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Laptop for gaming

Hey All! I have a kick *** desktop system that i play all the latest games on. I want a laptop for these games so i dont have to haul my desktop with me to lan parties and such. My problem is I only have about 1500 to spend. I found a site where i can get this for that price:CPU : IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® M Processor 760 @ 2.0GHz 478-PIN 533FSB 2MB L2 CACHE
MOTHERBOARD : Intel 915GM Alviso & Intel ICH6-M Chipset Mainboard
MEMORY : 1GB PC4200 DDR2-533 SODIMM MEMORY
VIDEO CARD : Upgradable MXM Type II 16X PCI-Express NVIDIA Geforce GO 6600 256MB Video
HARD DRIVE : 80GB 5400RPM SATA150 HARD DRIVE
OPTICAL DRIVE : 8X DVD REWRITABLE DRIVE
SOUND : BUILT-IN AC 97 SOUND.
My question is WIll this be good enough to run some of the newer games such as call of duty 2 and possibly quake 4 smoothly. I dont need to play them at the best quality but preferably a decent setting. I just want them to run smoothly with little lag. Also what the hell does upgradable vid card mean? I thought that laptop vid cards cannot be upgraded. Do they mean i can upgrade the vram or upgrade the card maybe to a 6800 or something like that. Thanks in advance!
__________________

Twinsfan85 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

looks good, you might be wanting to get 2GBS of ram
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

you sould look into getting a 6800 go graphics intead of the 6600
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

yeah man that setup is good, dont think that you need the 2gb of ram but try to get the 6800 go graphics, that will hook you up just fine, you wont have to worry about lags an stuff
__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 07:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

what website did you find it on?
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.