Lanparty Vs. Infinity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default Lanparty Vs. Infinity

What is the difference between the DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D and the DFI nf4 Ultra-Infinity? All I can see is that the Lanparty has two PCI-E 16x slots and the Infinity has only one. Other than that I think they are exactly the same, no?
__________________

Tyr is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

The DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D has a PCI-express x4 slot, an additional PCI-express x16 slot (which I don't understand because it's a non-SLIable board, so having more than 1 PCI-express x16 slot is pointless), a better onboard sound "card", 2 more USB 2.0 ports and 3 more audio ports than the Infinity. Of course it's a little larger in physical size than the Infinity one (but still ATX size), doesn't include the COM and LPT ports that the Infinty version offers (which are most likely outdated and insignifcant anyway) and doesn't support RAID 0+1 (which I don't think is used often anyway).

Basically, the Ultra is the latest "revision" of the Infinty board, it would make more sense buy it than the Infinty.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

In the Ultra D you can mod it to SLI... using that other PCix16 slot.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Well the Infinity is $35 cheaper so why not get it rather than the Lanparty? Basically the only thing that makes the Lanparty better is the Audio Chipset and the fact that it can be modded into an SLI board (doing this will viod the warrenty though).
Tyr is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

True, you merely have to rub a pencil between two connectors on the chipset. It even calls itself a nForce4 SLi afterwards.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Ultra-D does support SLI, but only at 16X/2X (meaning one card gets 16X PCI-E bandwith, the other gets 2X PCI-E bandwith)
however the 2X bandwith for the second card does kinda bottleneck newer cards (it's a bit slower than AGP 8X)

the SLI-D and above can run SLI at 8X/8X (both cards get 8X PCI-E bandwith)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tyr
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 123
Default

I went to DFI-Street and depending on who you ask, some say the only difference between the LP and UI is another LAN port and some UV PCI-E slots. Others say the LP has more OCing options in the BIOS and that the UI wont OC as far. I personally don't even know how to OC so I think the Infinity would be good enough for me...
Tyr is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

yeah notice its called lanparty for one reason it has 2 lan ports so you dont have to buy a card if you want in and out lan
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

my LanParty doesn't have 2 Ethernet ports. but it still glows and OC's like none other.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

maybe it's because your'es has nforce 3 chips and the Ultra-D has nForce4 but i dont know and its 2:00 AM
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.