lag - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2008, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default lag

well i have had this dell XPS machine 4 about 2 years now(only went dell because my job had a huge discount) and i try 2 play Crysis on any setting and it lags when i try 2 customize my weapons. in multi player it always lags, even after something like a frag explosion with 4 people on the server, also i loose connection all the time. I have even tried ending almost all programs and sill the same thing. I am building my new PC when nehalem comes out so how can i get by just enough 2 play crysis online with playable lag.

Also, i am wondering if i should just buy my video card that i am going 2 put in my new build now(when it is released) ATI 4700 X2, and will 2 more gigs of RAM help?

my specs:
XP professional
C2D 2.4
2 gigs DDR2 RAM
NVIDIA 7900 GS x2 4 SLI
__________________

scooby4844 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: lag

4gb will help loading the game faster and of course the 4800x2 will be your best upgrade for the game. Overclock your cpu too, theres free performance waiting to be unleashed.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: lag

elk,,I am not sure how mitch my dell cpu cooler can take,but I will try,ty
scooby4844 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: lag

dell cpu coolers are actually similar to scythe ninja's... they either have 4 or 6 heatpipes.. they dno't suck in anyway...

and whats up with the vid card.. do you mean 7900gx2 maybe?

your video card may be the real problem here...

look into the 9800gx2, gtx260/280, hd4870 and hd4870x2
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: lag

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
dell cpu coolers are actually similar to scythe ninja's... they either have 4 or 6 heatpipes.. they dno't suck in anyway...

and whats up with the vid card.. do you mean 7900gx2 maybe?

your video card may be the real problem here...

look into the 9800gx2, gtx260/280, hd4870 and hd4870x2
no, i have 2 7900s--wow i never knew that the cooler was awsome.

only thing i am concerned about is the case only has 1 fan :freak:
scooby4844 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: lag

Hmm that is weird those cards can't handle Crysis. Heck my single x1800xt could handle it.

I would try reinstalling the game. Also make another user account and install it on that account. I have heard many people doing this when a game does like what you are talking about. Normally it clears it all up. It just like reformatting when you don't quite want to reformat yet. I don't think it is hardware issues. It has to be software somehow if you are losing your connection also. Make sure your graphic drivers are all up to date also.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 08:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: lag

i dunno wat settings ur playing on, but u wont run it on v high, or u will even get lag on high alot, so just run it on medium settings with no AA. otherwise if ur upgrading DONT! bu ur gpu now, wait untill the time comes and ggte everything at once, otherwise it will decreaase in value fast
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tv tuner lag Ind3siszive Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-04-2008 11:49 PM
computer freezes, lag when typing, etc help please ESPman12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 02-20-2008 01:09 PM
Stream any PC game to your PS3 with no lag TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 32 02-01-2008 01:14 PM
Upgraded only GFX card, CPU causing lag? FavouriteColour System Upgrades 20 10-23-2007 09:23 AM
PC game lag Vardon098 PC Gaming 33 10-20-2007 08:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.