Knowledgable people, please look! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default Knowledgable people, please look!

i'll TRY to keep this one short.

ive built my pc, gotten my dvi adapter ( board is dfi lan ultrad )
i turn my comp on, and the monitor turns on, then quickly turns off... in that time i do not get a screen... just reassurance that power is getting to my monitor.

All the leds are working on the mainboard, and i get no beeps
All the fans are working

BUT

when turned on, the red light on the tower stays on, does not flicker at all

the yellow/green light on the tower does not come on at all ( im guessing thats the led for the hard-drive )

and besides the fans, i get no noise "at all"

ive taken the motherboard and the hard-drive out of the case and put it on a mat that came with the board, which i put on a table, to see if grounding was a problem...... and that didnt work..
,
i only have 2 dvi sockets on my 6800 gt, and ive treid both, ive also tried both pcie X16 sockets...


Ive spent the whole day trying to get answers to this, but nothing comes of it...

Can any of you smart people help a poor noob in need?
__________________

24hrs is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Does you'r psu have enough power to support your computer?
because i think that could be the source of your problem.
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

That happened to me 2, its a PSU problem
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

my psu should be absolutely fine though....

its a 550w antec trupower 2
24hrs is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Its either a faulty power supply or a dead video card (or possibley a bad PCIE slot, I had the AGP slot die on my DFI Lanparty motherboard awhile back). If you have a second computer, pull each of those one at a time and see if they will work in it.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

theres actually no way i can test the video card, but i can test the psu.....

if the psu works, do i go ahead and buy a video card anyway?

could it be the dvi adapter??
24hrs is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

You cant really rule the adapter out but theres more of a chance of the video card being dead then the adapter. If you bought it from newegg they will RMA stuff like that no problem (even if its not really dead).

Edit: You might want to also check the SLi jumper on the motherboard , make sure that it is lined up for only one video card. And make sure you have the power connector in the video card (the six pin connector).
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

If the red light has a "cylinder" sign under it, then thats your CPU usage.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

unfortunatly i got the video card off ebay a couple of months back, preparing for this build...

i wouldnt like my chances of getting an exchange off the seller....

the power connecter would be the one coming from the psu with pcie on it? if so, i already have that one in.

i shall check out the pcie jumper now....

any other suggestions are *MORE* than welcome

EDIT: jumpers are fine
24hrs is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 03:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

wait a sec... if it was the video card, then wouldnt i still get activity from the hard-drive??
__________________

24hrs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.