Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2009, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 129
Default Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

I recently built a new computer and stuck one Kingston 2gb 667mhz memory stick into the motherboard and havent had any problems, although my games are slow at times and some are so slow that I question my hardware.

When I was telling everybody the hardware I had gotten before, when I mentioned the 667mhz memory somebody was like "why such slow ram?"

So i'm wondering if the ram speed has something to do with the slow game performance, because I have the cash right now and was going to buy another 2gb stick for a total of 4gb, but before I did so I wanted to ask and get an opinion.

My computer:

Intel Core 2 duo E8400 3.0ghz
2Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz
XFX Geforce 9600 GSO 768mb


I assume those are the main things that matter in determining performance. So what do you guys think? Is the ram slowing me down? Could it be the slightly outdated video card? Would another 2gb 667mhz stick do me any good for speed?
__________________

TaskTool is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

you need more and faster ram, go with something like this,

Newegg.com - OCZ NVIDIA SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2N800SRC44GK - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 129
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

So I'm definitely going to need the 4gb of ram and it needs to be 800Mhz?

I'll go ahead and bookmark that ram.
TaskTool is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

does not need to be 800MHz but for a nice performance increase 800MHz ram will do you good, as long as your mobo supports it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

That memory looks good, but if you want to be cheap 2gb is probably enough for most games - especially if you're running a 32-bit operating system, which will only recognize ~4gb total for the entire system. Just make sure you take out the 667mhz memory stick, or it'll slow down the rest of the memory too! If you want to be cheap, you could always get something like this.

If it's only games that are causing problems, you'd probably be better off getting a newer graphics card. The 9600 GSO, while much better than anything integrated, is a very midrange card. A 9800GT or GTS 250 or GTX 260 would probably provide a noticeable increase in frame rate.

I went from a 7600GT to a 9800GT, and went from "playing" Crysis at lowest settings at 1024x768 (lousy CRT) to medium settings at 1920x1200. You probably won't see that large of a jump (your 9600GSO is a better card than the 7600), but it'll still be worthwhile.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

^ PNY for me is a no no. i have had a graphics card of thiers fail on me as well as 2 different DDR-667 kits fail.

this is what you go for is you want cheap,

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB &#40;2 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 &#40;PC2 6400&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-2GBPK - Desktop Memory
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

Also with DDR2-800 and that E8400 if you want to OC to an everyday 3.6GHz with 400FSB*9 it puts the FSB ratio to 1:1 which makes it nice. I have this RAM. 4-4-4-12 @ 1.9V.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 129
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

I really want the 4gb total, and I only have 2 ram bays, and my motherboard only supports 4Gb of ram, and it probably will not let me overclock anything.

Ditching the 667mhz is a must? Or is the 4gb total a must? Or is 2gb of 800mhz a must? I really dont know what to do.
TaskTool is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 05:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

a good 4GB (2x 2gb) set of 800MHz is a must. ditch the DDR2 667 stuff and pick up the OCZ kit i mentioned earlier.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Is the Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Memory good enough?

With only two ram bays, 4GB @ 800mhz would probably be best. It'd probably last the longest and save money in the long run. Not sure how much of an improvement it would really be - like I said, I suspect the graphics card - but it'd undoubtedly be better. I mean, hey, bigger numbers!
__________________

__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb System Upgrades 2 12-15-2008 02:25 PM
DDR2 ram 667MHZ - 800MHZ madking153 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-23-2008 04:14 PM
Article on Overclocking memory. Really good read. TheOtis Overclocking and Modding 6 09-03-2007 01:05 AM
Good Overclocking DDR2 RAM? GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 11 07-01-2007 11:17 PM
is this a good memory kit? krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-05-2007 10:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.