Kentsfield. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2006, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Default Kentsfield.

Will any current Mobo's support Kentsfield?

I have an MSI 975X Platinum, any chance of getting quad core working on this?
__________________

tetlow_63 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i have no idea, i think it has been done but don't count on it.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im pretty sure that no mobos out now can handle 4 cores
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrZucchiniHead
im pretty sure that no mobos out now can handle 4 cores
The article on Anandtech said that any Core 2 Duo board should work with quad-cores. The Mac Pro's motherboard supports two of them. (Yes, 8 cores. )
The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

It looks like at the least all the 965 boards have shown to be compatible.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I know coolaler from xtremesystems ran a kentsfield on his msi 975x platinum or what ever it's called i forgot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Awesome, look's like my new setup should last years with a couple of possible improvements.
tetlow_63 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

I think all 975x boards support Kentsfield, I could be wrong though.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 05:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
The article on Anandtech said that any Core 2 Duo board should work with quad-cores. The Mac Pro's motherboard supports two of them. (Yes, 8 cores.
are you sure on that info about the Mac Pro? i have not investigated but i would be ~90% sure that you could not use Core 2 desktop processors in an MP configuration seeing as both Intel and AMD have made a habit of stripping MP support from non-server targeted cpus. Kentsfield is desktop right?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 11:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Everything I've seen on the 8 core systems have ben with Clovertown. They have shown 8 cores running in windows to.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.