Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2008, 07:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Question Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

hello i have a e6600 overclocked on a Asus P5b-E using 1.3750 of voltage. and i was wondering was it worth upgrading to a e8400? cause i heard the e8400's are $259 and that is a pretty good price considering you can push them 4ghz+

my chipset is a p965 so it is one of the older ones i have heard that the p965 chipset is the best to overclock e8400 on?
__________________

__________________
Asus P5b-e
2.4Ghz Core2 Duo E6600@3.6Ghz FSB 1066@1600
Gskill NQ 2GB (1GB x 2) 800MHz DDR2@ 900mhz
Corsair HX520W power supply
Inno3d Geforce 8800 GTS 640Mb
Gigabyte 3d Aurora
Jealous?

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/3488/nvidpngfl1.png
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8955/e6600gr6.jpg
http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/1144/g5ap5.jpg
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/8...techg15rp4.png
http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/3...ccernt1rs6.gif
http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/8...caalba7in9.jpg
mattchew13 is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 08:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

I don't think that you motherboard support Wolfdale
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 05:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia, South Australia
Posts: 70
Send a message via MSN to mattchew13
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

ohhh but it is
__________________
Asus P5b-e
2.4Ghz Core2 Duo E6600@3.6Ghz FSB 1066@1600
Gskill NQ 2GB (1GB x 2) 800MHz DDR2@ 900mhz
Corsair HX520W power supply
Inno3d Geforce 8800 GTS 640Mb
Gigabyte 3d Aurora
Jealous?

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/3488/nvidpngfl1.png
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/8955/e6600gr6.jpg
http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/1144/g5ap5.jpg
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/8...techg15rp4.png
http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/3...ccernt1rs6.gif
http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/8...caalba7in9.jpg
mattchew13 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

I think it does support , I say keep the E6600.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

You can get OEM E8400's for less than $220. I think Tiger has it pretty darn cheap. I don't know much about your mobo and what you want, so I can't really help you there. I would get the Q6600 for $199 at micro center. lol
__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

i would just keep the e6600, its still an extremely fast processor.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

Just stick with the e6600 or get a q6600. You'll end up replacing the board and chip again in 9 months when nehalem comes out anyway
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 46
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

newegg now has the e8400 for $209 - - if yo're lucky enough to hit the 30 minute window when it's in stock.
Portland Newb is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 04:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

^^LOL^^
bueno suerte

OEM is 199.00 and out of stock.
so is retail @ 209.00

wah wah wah...gotta be quick.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Default Re: Keep E6600 Or Upgrade To E8400??

Tiger Direct has OEM for $219 and it is in stock.

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Processor EU80570PJ0806M - 3.0GHz, 6MB Cache, 1333MHz FSB, Wolfdale, Dual-Core, OEM, Socket 775, Processor at TigerDirect.com
__________________

__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.