K8 and AM2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 69
Default K8 and AM2?

Hey guys, quick question..

I'm debating on buying this water cooling solution, but will it fit on an AM2 socket.. note how it says K7/8, not a socket number, so I'm not too sure.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106078

Any ideas if it's worth it?
__________________

__________________
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...s/3/8/css1.jpg

AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.25Ghz | Zalman CNPS9500 | DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D | eVGA 7900GT KO SC | Zalman VF700 | 2 x 1GB Gskill PC 4000 | 2 x WD 320 GB HDD\'s | Audigy2 ZS | Logitech X-530s | Saitek Eclipse | Tsunami Dream
DarkS1d3 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Probably not worth it....better off getting a TT Big Typhoon.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

AM2 is a K9 (or generation 9) socket. It's setup is different from K8's, so you wouldn't be able to use that.

Feel free to correct me, though.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 69
Default

thx for that, i assumed it wouldn't work... Would I see any improvement in temps from my Zalman CNPS9500 (s939 rig) if I switched?

It does strike me as a cheap wc solution though, and I'm happy now, but if it's better, it's not too expensive of an upgrade.

EDIT: Are you sure about K9? (lol, sounds weird) I thought the next thing out of AMD was K8L, quad-core or whatever it is.
__________________
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...s/3/8/css1.jpg

AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.25Ghz | Zalman CNPS9500 | DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D | eVGA 7900GT KO SC | Zalman VF700 | 2 x 1GB Gskill PC 4000 | 2 x WD 320 GB HDD\'s | Audigy2 ZS | Logitech X-530s | Saitek Eclipse | Tsunami Dream
DarkS1d3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.