K10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2007, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default K10

Are there any motherboards currently released which support these new processors fully with ddr2 ram??? AM2 board are suppose to work but they don't get all the benefits which the new processors offer so what motherboards are there??? do the AMD 64 FX quad core (socket f) motherboards work completely???
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: K10

i don't think AM2+ boards are out yet. I dunno about the socket F.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-15-2007, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: K10

All of the AM2 and Socket F boards will work with the new CPUs. AM2+ and F+ will have HyperTransport 3.
turtile is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: K10

and they will all support DDR2 RAM. When DDR3 ram comes out, both Intel and AMD, DDR2 and DDR3 RAM should be interchangable.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: K10

it will be really good if they made ddr3 fit in ddr2 dimms. no new mb for me
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: K10

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
All of the AM2 and Socket F boards will work with the new CPUs. AM2+ and F+ will have HyperTransport 3.
I know that they will work in AM2 boards but I was hoping that there were some AM2+ boards around as I want to build a system in the next couple of months but If I don't use a k10 chip I will just use a intel quad core they are going to be 170 by july!!! thats slightly less then my e6600 cost me
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: K10

The new CPUs should be out around August. Thats why Intel is lowering the price at the end of July.
turtile is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: K10

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
The new CPUs should be out around August. Thats why Intel is lowering the price at the end of July.
well actually the first few come out july too and the majority of dual core am2+ cpu's come out in november I was planning on buying a socket am2+ board and using an am2 core until Christmas
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 05:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: K10

no am2+ boards out that i know of. but i'm waiting for them.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.