Just wanting to make sure i have this correct. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2012, 09:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Question Just wanting to make sure i have this correct.

Hey,
I am currently looking to build a good gaming PC without going overboard on price.
I have a list of parts and just wish to make sure this would all work out, and would greatly appreciate it if someone would help me with that.

Parts list:
Case: Rosewill THOR V2 Gaming ATX Full Tower Computer Case, support up to E-ATX / XL-ATX
Hardrive:Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive x2
MB:ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Gaming Motherboard with 3-Way SLI/CrossFireX Support and UEFI BIOS
Netcard:NETIS AD-1103 Giga Ethernet Adapter 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI-Express 1 x RJ45
Video Card:XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Cardx2
Power supply:CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
RAM:G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRLx2(Four sticks for 16gigs of ram)
CD Drive:ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM
OS:Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM

Thats is what i have so far, i just want to make sure i am not making a mistake with something and will regret it when i go to put this thing together.
Thank you for your time, and if you also have an suggestions please say those too.



__________________

Rhombus is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Just wanting to make sure i have this correct.

Welcome to TF!

First off, what is your budget? We may be able to squeeze more out of it if we know what the limit is.

I would recommend using two hard drives (or a SSD and a hard drive), one for your OS and one for data. Where you install your other programs would depend on the size of the OS drive. i use a SSD for my OS, a HDD for my programs, and a couple of other HDDs for storage... but that's just me.

You really won't need a network card as all current motherboards come with onboard network connectivity. Most mid to top end boards will have giganet connections.

We might be able to milk more graphics performance out of a different card, but that would depend on the price. If you are using NewEgg then we might be able to snag some good combo deals.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Just wanting to make sure i have this correct.

Ditch the high end Asus AMD mobo and get a cheaper Intel 1155 mobo and a 2500k.
Also ditch the NIC, it isn't needed since 99% of all new boards have integrated gigabit.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Default Re: Just wanting to make sure i have this correct.

Hi,
Thank you very much for your input and Yes i am using NewEgg. My budget Is within the $1500-$1600 range so i hope that helps with maybe figuring out what i could switch around.
Thank you again for your time!
Rhombus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanting to make a Recovery Disk for an XP Computer. DerekGoodson Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-11-2007 09:32 PM
Enough.....correct? TonCrafter New Systems | Building and Buying 17 03-26-2006 12:20 AM
Can this be correct? TonCrafter Overclocking and Modding 6 03-10-2006 11:33 AM
Wanting to make pop up... mikwiththestick Programming 7 05-13-2005 03:42 AM
I am wanting to make my computer better? midi26 PC Gaming 4 05-08-2004 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.