Just ordered Gigabyte.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Just ordered Gigabyte..

Just ordered this Gigabyte mobo..

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-DS4H AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards


Says the PCI-E runs at x8 :/ but ill be running a 2.0 x16 ati 4870 will it reflect my performance any?
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Just ordered Gigabyte..

No. current cards can hardly use the bandwidth provided by pci-e so you're fine.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Just ordered Gigabyte..

Since its PCI-Express 2.0 the 8.0x is 16x anyways.

Since PCI-E 2.0 doubles the bandwidth.

At least that's how I see it.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Just ordered Gigabyte..

^^^

Thats true.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various Gigabyte Boards make my head hurt The Zune Guy New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-31-2008 05:28 AM
FS: BRAND NEW Gigabyte 8800GT w/ Zalman heatsink NightSurge Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 08-19-2008 11:31 AM
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
Which Gigabyte DS3 mobo? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-23-2007 09:43 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.