Just finished my first build..... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2008, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Thanks drizzt, its my first build ever too. Lol
Its a 29.99 Raidmax Astro (Could have looked at my sig)
Very nice case for the price. Stays very cool with the 2 side fans as intakes, in the lower front i got a 80mm intake, you can put a 120 there also, and 2 80mm exhausts on the back + 120mm PSU exhaust. Stays very cool, i got the fx5200 from 250/400 stock to 320/530 already, still stable, no heat to the touch on any part of the card yet.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

i got a question, in speed fan, my temp is reading 23c and core temp is -1c - 2c. I doubt this is correct, but so far every program that reads temp has shown me around 25c for the temp.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

woops... i just saw his fx5200 hehe i ignored the rest ^.^

I must be tired.... grrr _-_


Did you try pcwizard08? It works for me...


It could be a faulty mobo sensors, like what happend to my first 680i...

But in your case it would be reversed :/ my temps were high yours appear to be too low...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Looks very nice. Good wire management. I should take lessons on that from you :laughing: I suck at wire management.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Even in my bios it shows 25c, i know its not correct, but maybe its double it? 50c sounds about right.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Wire management
1) All unused psu wires, place on the side of the drive bays opposite of your case window. Zip tie to unused optical drive bay and HDD bay holes.
2) Run wires along edges
3) Ziptie stuff.
thats pretty much all i did.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikoman69 View Post
Even in my bios it shows 25c, i know its not correct, but maybe its double it? 50c sounds about right.

25C on stock and idle sounds fine man, it will go up after a while when you put some load on it... its the core temps of -1C that doesnt make sense to me...


and if you were getting 50C on stock AND idle then i dont think that is good :/
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Sometimes RAM is configured in Channel A, Channel B...
Sometimes RAM is configured in Group A, Group B...
Sardonic is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

Well, right now im working on overclocking that video card so it can perform well until i get a PCI-e card.
Im using Ntune for stress testing, and UT2004, Half Life 2 and Call of Duty 2 for game testing.
Right now its stable at 325/540
No temp sensor in it thought, so just because it doesnt feel remotely warm by it, the core could still be burning up correct?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Just finished my first build.....

WAITWAIT my bad... i'm so stupid tonight -_- your talking about that fx5200's temps right?
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just finished build, Have a few questions. IBM/PS1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-25-2008 12:23 PM
Finished build Nazgul New Systems | Building and Buying 26 01-07-2008 02:58 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Build #2 finished - photos jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 14 09-24-2007 11:08 PM
help with newly finished build... (DVD codec?) therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-12-2007 12:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.