Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2007, 05:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

Okay alot of progress. I plugged in the keyboard/mouse (derrr) and I also had forgotten to plug in the Hard Drive after I disconnected to test if it was working. So I have everything connected EXCEPT the second stick of RAM (still not sure why it won't work with it in... it annoys me alot).

I am now doing a fresh install of Windows and hoping that after that is done I will be able to chuck my second GB of RAM in there and have a smooth running computer!!!
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

tell us how it goes
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

The memory might be faulty.

Run memtest86
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 09:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

Okay installing windows is all done. The system seems a bit slow and choppy compared to my old one but that could be because I'm transferring stuff off my external HDD not sure.

On the memory front I believe one of the sticks is faulty. I tried moving it to different sockets (by itself) and it wouldn't work. Then I tried the non-faulty one in those same sockets and it did work.

Only problem is its going to be a bit hard to get a refund. I bought it from a computer market that will come around two weeks from now. So I guess I have to wait it out on my crappy 1 GB of DDR 800 until then.

Quick question: If all other things remained constant would a Pentium 4 3.2 GHz give better performance when just using xp for simple things like internet/music playback etc. than a Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz? 'Cause it sure feels that way. Guess I'll have to turn that huge fan on the top of my antec 900 on and overclock this baby .

Just wanna give a big thanks to everyone who helped me through the process of upgrading this stuff. Love you Tech-Forums!
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 11:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raziel-Zero View Post
Okay installing windows is all done. The system seems a bit slow and choppy compared to my old one but that could be because I'm transferring stuff off my external HDD not sure.

On the memory front I believe one of the sticks is faulty. I tried moving it to different sockets (by itself) and it wouldn't work. Then I tried the non-faulty one in those same sockets and it did work.

Only problem is its going to be a bit hard to get a refund. I bought it from a computer market that will come around two weeks from now. So I guess I have to wait it out on my crappy 1 GB of DDR 800 until then.

Quick question: If all other things remained constant would a Pentium 4 3.2 GHz give better performance when just using xp for simple things like internet/music playback etc. than a Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz? 'Cause it sure feels that way. Guess I'll have to turn that huge fan on the top of my antec 900 on and overclock this baby .

Just wanna give a big thanks to everyone who helped me through the process of upgrading this stuff. Love you Tech-Forums!
not even close....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 11:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Just Finished Building New Computer... And It Won't Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
not even close....

Sorry what?

EDIT: Oh I get it now. Yeah I think it was because the CPU was @ 1.6 GHz for some reason :S. Still don't know why. I pushed it up to 2.4 GHz though and it is running like a dreaaaaaam. I just gotta get the second GB of RAM to work and I'm set!
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.