Just bought an Open box mobo.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2007, 08:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

you dont get that shield that goes in the back of the case that fits the mobo - thats the biggest SUCK part about it.

is it a biostar? I've emailed them and they've sent me that part before when I've requested free of charge.

Of the 4 mobos I've bought open box 1 was bad (well I think it is, it could be a power supply too) and the rest work like champs.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 08:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
you dont get that shield that goes in the back of the case that fits the mobo - thats the biggest SUCK part about it.
Shield? I don't think that's such a big deal...who the heck looks behind the pc anyway?
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Oh did you not get the shield for all of your open box mobos? Wow, that kind of sucks, lol
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Open box is only OEm guaranteed so they actually could send you a board with a heatsink missing or something if they wanted and they would not have to replace it. Open Box are a gamble as I purchased one and had to send it back because it was defective. However the majority of open box are good but yes you may not get everything you need.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
Unless its a NIC card. Kind of a conundrum there....
lol indeed a conundrum
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D RPG engine searching for interested C++ programmers mvBarracuda Programming 19 10-11-2007 10:57 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Don't forget Newegg Open Box's people :P Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-21-2007 11:21 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.