Just bought an Open box mobo.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2007, 01:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Just bought an Open box mobo..

Ok, I just ordered a TForce 550 open box mobo from newegg, for 50 bucks. Just wanted to know: what exactly am I losing from an open box than a brand new mobo, anyone with experience tell me if it is any different or not, and if it came with the driver cd's?
__________________

rx7i2 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

well you run the risk of something being damaged. after all most open boxed items are returned merchandise, and if the reseller cant find a problem with it repackaged as open box items. it might not come with drivers but thats no big deal as you can download them easily.
__________________

Raknor is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Its basically refurbished. Except its almost garunteed to have been defective at some point. And it should come w/ driver cd's... and if u were wondering, y didnt u ask b4 u ordered it? lol.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

****, it was 50 bucks, so I got this instead w/ an Arctic cooling freezer 64 cooler..Well, I'm not doing anything extreme(no raid and such), just overclocking , think I'll be fine?
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

it isnt necessarily defective, man.
someone could've just rma'd it because they didnt like it. they're a retard and bought an am2 board for an s939 cpu, etc etc. people do dumb sh** like that all the time.
if it doesnt have the driver cd, you can EASILY find them on the internet.
it wont have the ide cables or sata cables perhaps.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
it isnt necessarily defective, man.
someone could've just rma'd it because they didnt like it. they're a retard and bought an am2 board for an s939 cpu, etc etc. people do dumb sh** like that all the time.
if it doesnt have the driver cd, you can EASILY find them on the internet.
it wont have the ide cables or sata cables perhaps.
loads of idiots in the world.......
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Thanks, that makes me feel a lot better lol
Edit: I just found out that my hard drive was an open box model when I bought it, my older 80gb Hitachi, and it's been working for me for more than a year and a half, still going strong w/out a problem
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
it isnt necessarily defective, man.
someone could've just rma'd it because they didnt like it. they're a retard and bought an am2 board for an s939 cpu, etc etc. people do dumb sh** like that all the time.
if it doesnt have the driver cd, you can EASILY find them on the internet.
it wont have the ide cables or sata cables perhaps.
Agree. My current mb is an open box item...and runs like a champ! I've also purchased refurb in the past and I've been lucky enough not to get bad refurb
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 05:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raknor View Post
it might not come with drivers but thats no big deal as you can download them easily.
Unless its a NIC card. Kind of a conundrum there....
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 06:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Just bought an Open box mobo..

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuaziBee View Post
Unless its a NIC card. Kind of a conundrum there....
I have had that happen before. what do you do when linux doesn't have drivers for your NIC and no other computer nearby has internet?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D RPG engine searching for interested C++ programmers mvBarracuda Programming 19 10-11-2007 10:57 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Don't forget Newegg Open Box's people :P Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-21-2007 11:21 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.