Just bought a new computer Tell me what you think - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 01:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

oh ok yea see thats wat I was aiming for Im not much of a gamer. I play some games nothing too serious though. Im mostly all about multitasking tons of programs, Moviesm music ect. Half life is a good game though. would I be able to play it at a good rate? If I were to upgrade my card to a 512 ATI 1900 would that help its gaming side?
__________________

v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yes it would but I don't think for the money that that card is the best way to go, do you know if you use pci-e or agp? can I have a link to the exact card you are looking at so I know your price rance, and can I also add 512 on board ram really isn't need IMHO some say it is but at the same most games out now won't really utilize all on board ram. it can play the original half life perfect. As for half life 2 it can play it at a good framerate just really really bad quality (meaning lowest settings and lowest resolution)
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

The graphics card just isn't that fast of a GPU. I think it might be one of those shared memory deals, too. Not certain, though.
Orayn is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

woops after reading the first one I noticed it is a pci-e, no need to tell me.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

Below is a direct link to the Graphics card. It was found under the gamers section in products of the ATI website.

http://www.ati.com/products/radeonx300/index.html
v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

no i ment the graphics card you are directly looking at to replace the x300. you said the 1900 right? I was wondering what EXACT card though.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:58 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i am just curious as to why you came to ask whether or not it is good after you have already bought it. i agree that it would make quite a decent video editing machine but the pentium D series are not renowned for being the best gaming processors, at least not compared to their AMD counterparts. the X300 is a very weak graphics card and will not get you very far in most games.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
the X300 is a very weak graphics card and will not get you very far in most games.
I have the same exact vid card, it wont get you good quality but as long as you play most games on the lowest res and the lowest settings you should get aroun 20 fps. I'm also running an 3200+ venice and that might make a diference though.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:27 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

The x300 just isn't very powerful, though. An x800 or x1600 would make a great upgrade later on, as would a now-cheap 7600GT.
Orayn is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 10:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i am just curious as to why you came to ask whether or not it is good after you have already bought it. i agree that it would make quite a decent video editing machine but the pentium D series are not renowned for being the best gaming processors, at least not compared to their AMD counterparts. the X300 is a very weak graphics card and will not get you very far in most games.
lol. I just like to hear other people opinions. I mainly bought this pc for work and school use. Like I said earlier the gaming part is only a one time thing nothing hardcore. Also Is this considered a High Performance pc to most? Ive always been a computer fanatic and building my pcs and software ect.

Also why is everything about gaming? Almost every reply has to do with gaming. lol
__________________

v930 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.