Just bought a new computer Tell me what you think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Question Just bought a new computer Tell me what you think

Hey everyone. I just bought a new Dell Dimension 9150 here are the specs.

Intel Pentium D 940 3.2ghz dual-core processor

4gb Ram

320gb Hard Drive

128MB ATI Hyper Memory PCI-Express X16 (DVI/VGA/TV Out) Radeon X300 SE (not much of a gamer)

16X DVD-ROM and 16X DVD+/-RW

SoundBlaster Advanced MB Audio 7.1ch

Monitor: 19in UltraSharp Flat screen

and more but those are the basics.


Opinions ne one does this sound like a good pc?

Are these all good specs? Thank you

Note: Upgrading from a Dell Dimension fully modded 3g P4
__________________

v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well it is pretty nice, no complaints. just how much did you pay?
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

around 1200
v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

its a good overall home PC. not for the gamer. more ram than needed.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

y wouldnt it be good for a gamer cause of the Graphics card im guessing? Is too much ram bad? is the processor above real good? Will this PC be Extremely fast? Im using it and it seems it.
v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

ram is too much if you're not doing anything that are ram hungry like video editing and crap and the video card suck major *** wouldn't do crap to new games. over all it's good VIDEO EDITING and things like that pc, but definitly not gaming. that's what you get when you buy prebuilt pc's more than you need part and garbage components. that's why people build their own systems get what they like and need.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

well I did get wat I want I ordered those specs. But y not a gaming computer? Please read my above post?
v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

i am just saying man.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

but is the processor I got a good one and does the pc sound extremely fast cause thats wat I want cause I tend to run a lot of programs for work and school. I do web editing and alot of other stuff. the only game I play if that is halo.

Is my Graphics card a good one?
v930 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

It is known not to be a Gaming computer because

1. it is Intel but that is changed now it that conroe is out but as for that exact cpu it is not better then an AMD gaming comp.
2. that comp is really really good at multi tasking because it is dual core and it has 4 gigs of ram.
3. it isn't a gaming rig since I have that same card and I built my pc and I just used that card since my mobo doesn't have on-board video. That card can play most games on LOW settings, the best game I played and am playing is half life at low settings averaging about 20-30 fps on LOW settings.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.