Just Another Upgrade Question Thread - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default Just Another Upgrade Question Thread

Over winter break I will be upgrading my current system. I plan on upgrading to an AMD dual core processor, and an SLi chipset. I would really like to go with a Manchester core (based on what I've been reading) so I was thinking about the 3800 or the 4200. It was pointed out to me that both the 3800 and the 4200 only have a 512x2 cache (which in a high proformace system is a tad low). The least expensive chip that offers 1 mb cache is the 4400. However this is a toledo core not a machester. The next cheapest manchester core that offers 1 mb cache is the 4600. So my question is, is 1 mb cache worth and extra $200+ or possible switch to a toledo core.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

actually the machester has 1MB cache and the toldeo has 2MB cache. the 3800+ with 1MB cache is good.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Each core only has 512k cache
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

which in total is 1MB

which the toledo has 1MBx2=2MB which has a total of 2MB cache
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

The 3800+ is a very nice CPU. With overclocking, it's just a tad slower than it's more expensive counterparts.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Do you think its worth an extra $121 for the 4200 ?
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Not to me, I would go with another gig of ram instead (which is what I'm doing)
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 02:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can always OC
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

Exactly. I saw benchmarks of a X2 3800+ OCed to 2.7 Ghz. It blew the 4800+ away.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 12:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Yea, thats why I wanted to go with the manchester core. Thanks for the input !
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.