It's time to chill out....... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default It's time to chill out.......

Alright, Ive decided I really wanna OC my FX55. So, I wanna install a Zalman 9500. Thing is............I don't have a clue how to install one. LOL Mind helping me?

Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

get a thermaltake big typhoon if your computer doesn't move much and you can spare the room inside your pc case. its huge but i think its a few degrees cooler than the 9500 and i think its even cheaper as well. at least it was at the retailer i was at today.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Is there any good cooling solution that doesnt involve really invasive installation? I'd rather not have to remove the mobo to install.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol
Quote:
Ive decided I really wanna OC my FX55
so much for really wanting to. in my opinion if you are serious you will take whatever action is necessary to get the best results. if you really don't want to go to the trouble of installing the typhoon then the 9500 is probably the next best.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yeah... you prety much have to remove the mobo in any hsf installation
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Your best bet is to take the motherboard out (may require a new back plate anyway.) and practise putting it on with out the thermal paste. It is not really that easy to describe what to do really (I attempted to just now but ended up with me saying 'thing' alot.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i say you just do a small overclock to 2.8 to match the fx57... or even 3.0.. to outdo it, i don't even think a small jump like that would require you get a new hsf
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the FX-55 would need to be overclocked to around 2.9 to be on par with the FX-57 by my count. it was still on the 130nm core and had a lower transistor count
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Yea, if you go with the Zalman 9500 it requires the use of a backplate on a socket 939, bt don't worry it comes with it. Also, go to the zalman website, they have installation videos that will help you.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Thanks guys. It's not that I mind working inside my comp, it's just I'm paranoid of screwing something up. LOL As for OCing even 'slightly' without new cooling...............I don't think it's a good idea. I havent been doing anything hardly at all and my CPU is at 48*C right now. My multiplier is at x13 now and the farthest I can bump it without locking up my comp is x13.5. So, when I start upping my FSB, even just a little, the temps start sky rocketing.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.