Its my first time and im nervous

Status
Not open for further replies.

Final Destiny

Beta member
Ok heres the skinny ladies and gents, Ive done a fair amount of upgrades to my PC's and a few for friends to make them gaming compatible and now I want to make the leap into building one from scratch. I've installed cards, hard drives, memory, and disc drives, but no experience in mobo's, cpu's, or power supplies. being that those are pretty much the easiest to blow up, catch fire, generally screw up badly im a little nervous about the whole thing. But Im hardheaded and against alot of ppl's naysaying im giving it a shot. So, heres a list of what im going to try and put in

CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 Black Edition 3.2
MOBO: Anything AM3 compatible that supports DDR3 memory and is of quality around a 150$ price tag (suggestions more than welcome)
Memory: 4x2gb DDR3 sticks 1333 (again, suggestions would be appreciatted)
Graphics: 2 Radeon 4870's with 1 gig video memory in crossfire (suggestions :D )
Optical Drive: something bluray compatible
Power Supply: I have no idea

Anywho this is generally what im looking to play with. im a pretty hardcore online gamer and i like to play some games double,triple, or quad boxed sometimes. i'd like to establish a nice system for around 1200 that i wont have to worry about for a couple years as far as upgrades so any input, advice, suggestions would be very appreciatted.

3 things I see people jack up the most.

1. Standing on carpet. Just dont do it. Ground band or not.

2. Bending pins on the CPU, your going AMD socket AM3 meaning it has 940 pins, dont get shakey. Haha, Dont push on the CPU, just line it up, and let it fall into place, you shouldnt have to push on it hardly at all.

3. DONT FORGET THE STANDOFF'S on your case. My God, I cannot believe one of my friends did this. Can you say short circuit? That mobo was toast in about a second

My wisdom :)

EDIT AM3 is 938 pins, my fault, was thinking AM2